RadioShack All-Time Best XI honored with 2005 Commissioner's Award

Major League Soccer Commissioner Don Garber honored the members of the RadioShack All-Time Best XI with the 2005 Commissioner's Award at the MLS Cup Gala held at the Nokia Theatre in Grand Prairie, Texas on the eve of the League's 10th championship game. The MLS Commissioner's Award is presented annually to the group or individual that has made a difference and contributed significantly to the League and the sport in America.

This year's honor pays tribute to the past, present and future of MLS and the passion, commitment and belief represented throughout the 10-year history of MLS by the best players in League history. The names of the 11 players selected to the RadioShack All-Time Best XI: Jeff Agoos, Marcelo Balboa, Landon Donovan, Marco Etcheverry, Brian McBride, Tony Meola, Jaime Moreno, Peter Nowak, Eddie Pope, Preki and Carlos Valderrama.

What follows is the list of recipients of the MLS Commissioner's Award since 1997:

2005: RadioShack MLS All-Time Best XI
2004: Lamar Hunt
2003: Ivan Gazidis
2002: Tab Ramos
2001: New York City Police and Fire Departments
2000: MLS Supporters Clubs
1999: Alexi Lalas
1998: Mark Abbott
1997: Lynne Meterparel

MLS Cup 2005, which is sold out (standing room tickets only available), features the New England Revolution playing the Los Angeles Galaxy for the Alan I. Rothenberg Trophy on Sunday, November 13 at Pizza Hut Park in Frisco, Texas. The game will be televised live to a national audience on ABC Sports (3:30 p.m. ET) and broadcast to over 120 countries worldwide via ESPN International.

The Revolution, led by Budweiser Golden Boot winner and 2005 Honda MVP Taylor Twellman, will meet the Galaxy, led by MLS' all-time playoff goal scorer Landon Donovan. The game is a rematch of MLS Cup 2002, when Los Angeles defeated New England 1-0 in extra time at Gillette Stadium to claim their first league title.

Stay connected: The official MLS app keeps you connected with the latest news, highlights, scores, standings, and analysis all for FREE. Download for iOS (Apple) or Download for Android