MLS Supplemental Draft set for Friday

which was held Jan. 14 in Baltimore -- the Supplemental Draft order is based on reverse order of finish in 2004, with Real Salt Lake and CD Chivas USA, the league's expansion teams in 2005, picking first and second respectively in each round. The 2005 SuperDraft was also a four-round event, with the traditional fifth and sixth rounds from years past being dropped and instead made the first and second rounds of the Supplemental Draft.

Each team will be given three minutes to make their selections in each round, while there will also be a three-minute break between rounds. If a team fails to make their selection within the allotted time, they must wait until the following team has made their selection, regardless of whether or not the first team's choice is presented prior to the second team's. The team that was delinquent in its selection must immediately have its choice in hand after the following team has made their pick. If not, the original team must again wait for the following team to make their selection.

One key difference between the SuperDraft and the Supplemental Draft will be the absence of trades. The league will impose a trade moratorium from Thursday at 5 p.m. ET until the conclusion of the Supplemental Draft.

The complete Supplemental Draft order is as follows:

1. Real Salt Lake
2. CD Chivas USA
3. Chicago Fire
4. FC Dallas (from DC, FCD)
5. San Jose Earthquakes
6. MetroStars
7. Colorado Rapids
8. Columbus Crew
9. Columbus Crew (from NE)
10. Los Angeles Galaxy
11. Kansas City Wizards
12. D.C. United

13. Real Salt Lake
14. CD Chivas USA
15. Chicago Fire
16. FC Dallas
17. New England Revolution (from SJ)
18. San Jose Earthquakes (from MET)
19. Los Angeles Galaxy (from COL)
20. Columbus Crew
21. New England Revolution
22. Los Angeles Galaxy
23. FC Dallas (from KC)
24. FC Dallas (from DC)

25. Real Salt Lake
26. CD Chivas USA
27. Chicago Fire
28. FC Dallas
29. San Jose Earthquakes
30. MetroStars
31. Colorado Rapids
32. Columbus Crew
33. New England Revolution
34. Los Angeles Galaxy
35. Kansas City Wizards
36. D.C. United

37. Real Salt Lake
38. CD Chivas USA
39. Chicago Fire
40. FC Dallas
41. San Jose Earthquakes
42. MetroStars
43. Colorado Rapids
44. Columbus Crew
45. New England Revolution
46. Los Angeles Galaxy
47. Kansas City Wizards
48. D.C. United

Jonathan Nierman is a contributor to This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Soccer or its club.

Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.