Howard voted top MLS goalkeeper

the year he won Goalkeeper of the Year -- remains a single-season record.

The Chicago Fire's Zach Thornton, Goalkeeper of the Year in 1998, finished in sixth place. He is nipping on Hartman's heels for the title of winningest MLS 'keeper. FC Dallas' Scott Garlick, who finished seventh in the voting, is one of three 'keepers in the poll who have not been Goalkeeper of the Year. The others are eighth-place Jorge Campos, who played for the Galaxy and Fire from 1996-98, and 10th-place Marcus Hahnemann, who was the Rapids' goalkeeper from 1997-99. San Jose Earthquakes 'keeper Pat Onstad, the Goalkeeper of the Year in 2003, finished ninth.

Jason Halpin is a contributor to This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Soccer or its clubs.

Stay connected: The official MLS app keeps you connected with the latest news, highlights, scores, standings, and analysis all for FREE. Download for iOS (Apple) or Download for Android