Andy Herron
screen grab

Herron blast voted Sierra Mist Goal of the Week

NEW YORK - Andy Herron's curving blast to the far corner for his first of two goals in Chicago's 3-3 tie against the Columbus Crew last Saturday was voted the Sierra Mist MLS Goal of the Week for the week ending October 3, 2004 (Week 27). Earlier in the week, Herron also earned his second consecutive Honda Player of the Week award for his two-goal performance.

The Goal of the Week winner is determined from a selection of finalists through a fan vote conducted on the Sierra Mist Goal of the Week section of Major League Soccer's official web site: - (Watch the goal here).

After Columbus took a 2-1 lead on a 55th minute goal, it took the under-manned Chicago Fire just four minutes to find the equalizer when the Crew had difficulty clearing the ball out of their own defensive end. The Costa Rican international corralled a poor clearance and quickly curled a powerful shot into the upper right corner of the net from outside the area that Crew goalkeeper Jon Busch had no chance to stop.

Herron's goal (57 percent of the fan vote) was the overwhelming winner, with his 80th minute equalizer coming in second place (18 percent). Goals by Revolution teammates Taylor Twellman and Steve Ralston as well as Colorado Rapids forward Jean Philippe Peguero also received votes.

Streaming video highlights and goals from MLS games are available for viewing every weekend on just hours after the conclusion of the final match of the weekend. The Sierra Mist Goal of the Week winner is announced the following Wednesday.

At the end of the regular season, each of the 29 Goal of the Week winners selected throughout the season will be featured in voting for the Sierra Mist MLS Goal of the Year, an award presented annually to the author of the season's most spectacular scoring play. The Sierra Mist Goal of the Year award will be announced in the days leading up to MLS Cup 2004.


Week 1: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 2: Ronald Cerritos (D.C. United)
Week 3: Dwayne De Rosario (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 4: Carlos Ruiz (Los Angeles Galaxy)
Week 5: Joe Franchino (New England Revolution)
Week 6: Cornell Glen (MetroStars)
Week 7: Jaime Moreno (D.C. United)
Week 8: Freddy Adu (D.C. United)
Week 9: John Wolyniec (MetroStars)
Week 10: Damani Ralph (Chicago Fire)
Week 11: Jeff Agoos (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 12: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 13: Jovan Kirovski (Los Angeles Galaxy)
Week 14: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 15: Steve Ralston (New England Revolution)
Week 16: Brian Ching (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 17: Jack Jewsbury (Kansas City Wizards)
Week 18: Amado Guevara (MetroStars)
Week 19: Dwayne De Rosario (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 20: Matt Crawford (Colorado Rapids)
Week 21: Ross Paule (Columbus Crew)
Week 22: Ronnie O'Brien (Dallas Burn)
Week 23: Josh Wolff (Kansas City Wizards)
Week 24: Tony Sanneh (Columbus Crew)
Week 25: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 26: Cornell Glen (MetroStars)
Week 27: Andy Herron (Chicago Fire)