FCD, D.C. meet in Open Cup quarters

the only honor ever won in Dallas club history -- when FC Dallas travels to face D.C. United on Wednesday. The clubs have been in the semifinals three of the last four years -- United in 2001 and '03, Dallas in 2002 -- but neither has played for the Dewar Trophy since that '97 final when United tried to repeat their 1996 championship, which was accomplished with a semifinal win against the then-Dallas Burn.

2005 OPEN CUP: United gained some revenge for a year ago when they defeated the USL First Division Richmond Kickers (second tier) 3-1 in the fourth round of the U.S. Open Cup. ... Freddy Adu gave United a 26th-minute lead with a long-range strike, but in the 68th minute McColm Cephas - who scored both goals for the Kickers in their 2-1 victory against United in their fourth-round advancement last year - equalized for Richmond in the 68th minute. Yet Christian Gomez sealed United's passage with two goals in six minutes, converting from the penalty spot after Dema Kovalenko was tripped up in the area (76) then knocking home a cross from Adu (81). ... Here's Nowak's team: Troy Perkins - Brandon Prideaux, John Wilson, Bobby Boswell (Bryan Namoff 46), Freddy Adu, Brian Carroll (Ben Olsen 46), Josh Gros, Clyde Simms, Dema Kovalenko (Shawn Kuykendall 76), Santino Quaranta, Jaime Moreno (Christian Gomez 46)

IN THE OPEN CUP: The first MLS winners of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, United has been a losing finalist and a twice semifinalist since, but haven't repeated the inaugural success. In 1996, they became the first club to complete the U.S. double, defeating the Rochester Raging Rhinos 3-0 three days after winning the first MLS Cup against the Los Angeles Galaxy. ... The following year, United again reached the Open Cup Final after winning MLS Cup 1997, but lost on penalties to the Dallas Burn after a scoreless draw through 120 minutes. ... United in 2001 and 2003 reached the semifinals, losing to the New England Revolution 0-2 in '01, and to the MetroStars 2-3 in '03. ... United have been dumped out of the competition at the first time of asking on two occasions - the loss in both instances coming to lower-division opposition, in 1999 to the Charleston Battery and then a year ago to the Richmond Kickers. ... After facing the Dallas Burn in the first two years of MLS history in the Open Cup (United winning a 1996 semifinal, but losing in the 1997 final), the two clubs haven't met in USOC play since.

2005 OPEN CUP: FC Dallas booked passage to the quarterfinals of the U.S. Open Cup with a 3-1 victory against a nine-man Columbus Crew in extra time in their fourth-round tie at Crew Stadium. ... Carey Talley knocked home an Oscar Pareja service in the 29th minute, but the Crew equalized seven minutes later as Kyle Martino finished off a lovely passing sequence. The draw stayed intact into extra time, when Danny Szetela and Frankie Hejduk were sent off with direct red cards within four minutes for fouls on Arturo Alvarez. Abe Thompson's powerful drive gave FC Dallas the lead in the 113th minute, then Eddie Johnson converted a penalty three minutes later after he was taken down by Jamal Sutton to provide the final margin. ... Here's Clarke's team: Jeff Cassar, Bobby Rhine, Steve Jolley, Drew Moor, David Wagenfuhr, Aaron Pitchkolan, Oscar Pareja (Eddie Johnson 77), Carey Talley, Roberto Mina (Arturo Alvarez 62), Carlos Ruiz (Abe Thompson 58), Ramon Nunez (Clarence Goodson 88). ...In the third round, FC Dallas survived more giant-killing exploits from the USL Second Division Wilmington Hammerheads (third tier), getting two goals in extra time for a 3-1 victory at University of Texas-Dallas. Two years ago, the Hammerheads defeated Dallas 4-1 in a fourth-round match in Wilmington, and after Derek Popovich shot them into an 18th-minute lead a repeat was in view. But Abe Thompson equalized on the half-hour, then Carey Talley headed home a Roberto Mina cross (98), before Mina finished off the match with a tremendous long-range effort (112) to send the Hoops through. ... Here's Colin Clarke's team: (4-4-2) - Jeff Cassar, Philip Salyer (Bobby Rhine 94), Drew Moor, Alex Yi, David Wagenfuhr, Carey Talley, Aaron Pitchkolan (Roberto Mina 64), Oscar Pareja (Ronnie O'Brien 64), Ty Maurin (Arturo Alvarez 78), Ramon Nunez, Abe Thompson.

The only honor in Dallas club history came in 1997, when they claimed the U.S. Open Cup title, defeating D.C. United on penalty kicks after a scoreless draw in Indianapolis. On their way to the title that year, the then-Burn defeated the New Orleans Riverboat Gamblers (A), Chicago Stingers (D3) and MetroStars to reach the final. They've reached the semifinals three times - losing in 1996 to D.C. United, in 1998 to Chicago Fire and in 2002 to Los Angeles Galaxy. Twice they've been dumped out at the first hurdle by lower-level competition - in 2001 by the PDL Seattle Sounders Select and in 2003 by the Hammerheads.

Stay connected: The official MLS app keeps you connected with the latest news, highlights, scores, standings, and analysis all for FREE. Download for iOS (Apple) or Download for Android