Dwayne De Rosario

De Rosario hits for Goal of the Week

Dwayne De Rosario's spectacular volley on Saturday, which capped the San Jose Earthquakes' 2-0 victory over D.C. United, captured Sierra Mist Goal of the Week honors for the week ending Aug. 8 (Week 19). The Canadian international's fourth goal of the year was also his second to have captured the weekly honors (Week 3), joining D.C. United's Alecko Eskandarian as the only two-time winner of the award during the 2004 season.

The Goal of the Week winner is determined from a selection of finalists through a fan vote conducted on the Sierra Mist Goal of the Week section of Major League Soccer's official web site: www.MLSnet.com.

With eight minutes to play and San Jose up 1-0, Quakes midfielder Brian Mullan crossed a long, lofted ball from the right flank that De Rosario connected on with a first-time, right-footed strike from just inside the box that rattled off the underside of the crossbar on its way into the back of the net.

De Rosario's goal (68 percent) was the overwhelming winner with John Wolyniec's (18 percent) mid-air deflection for the MetroStars finishing as the runner-up. Edson Buddle's header for Columbus, Eddie Gaven's finish for the Metros and Pat Noonan's header for the Revolution also received votes.

Streaming video highlights and goals from MLS games are available for viewing every weekend on MLSnet.com just hours after the conclusion of the final match of the weekend. The Sierra Mist Goal of the Week winner is announced the following Wednesday.

At the end of the regular season, each of the 29 Goal of the Week winners selected throughout the season will be featured in voting for the Sierra Mist MLS Goal of the Year, an award presented annually to the author of the season's most spectacular scoring play. The Sierra Mist Goal of the Year award will be presented at the annual Gala Awards ceremony in the days leading up to MLS Cup 2004.

Week 1: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 2: Ronald Cerritos (D.C. United)
Week 3: Dwayne De Rosario (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 4: Carlos Ruiz (Los Angeles Galaxy)
Week 5: Joe Franchino (New England Revolution)
Week 6: Cornell Glen (MetroStars)
Week 7: Jaime Moreno (D.C. United)
Week 8: Freddy Adu (D.C. United)
Week 9: John Wolyniec (MetroStars)
Week 10: Damani Ralph (Chicago Fire)
Week 11: Jeff Agoos (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 12: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 13: Jovan Kirovski (Los Angeles Galaxy)
Week 14: Alecko Eskandarian (D.C. United)
Week 15: Steve Ralston (New England Revolution)
Week 16: Brian Ching (San Jose Earthquakes)
Week 17: Jack Jewsbury (Kansas City Wizards)
Week 18: Amado Guevara (MetroStars)
Week 19: Dwayne De Rosario (San Jose Earthquakes)

Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.