Alex Zotinca (L) could be selected by Toronto FC.
B. Kersey/MLS/

Wizards announce protected player player list for Expansion Draft

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The Kansas City Wizards announced their list of protected players for the upcoming MLS Expansion Draft that will take place this Friday, November 17th at 12:00 p.m. CT for new league member Toronto FC. Toronto FC, which begins play in Major League Soccer's Eastern Conference next season, may select a maximum of one player from each of the 12 MLS team's unprotected player list to fill a total of 10 spots.

Each of the 12 MLS teams is allowed to protect 11 players from their 28-man rosters. Generation adidas players, which includes the Wizards' Ryan Pore, Will John and Yura Movsisyan, are automatically protected and exempt from selection. Toronto FC will not be able to select the following players in the draft:

Nick Garcia, Jimmy Conrad, Jose Luis Burciaga Jr., and Shavar Thomas (Senior International)

Kerry Zavagnin, Davy Arnaud, Sasha Victorine, and Jack Jewsbury

Josh Wolff, Eddie Johnson, and Scott Sealy (Senior International)

Teams are only allowed to make one senior international player available, with KC electing to make forward Dave van den Bergh that selection. The following Kansas City players have been left unprotected:

Bo Oshoniyi, Will Hesmer, and Eric Kronberg

Ryan Raybould, Brian Roberts, Tyson Wahl, Stephen Shirley

Matt Groenwald, Ryan McMahen, Sergei Raad, Lance Watson, and Alex Zotinca

Dave van den Bergh (Senior International)

Stay connected: Get access to breaking news, videos, and analysis from North America's best soccer reporters via "This Week in MLS" newsletter or using our FREE mobile app.