1999 Season Recap

The 1999 MLS season was again dominated by the Los Angeles Galaxy, D.C. United and Columbus Crew, but the story of the season was the Dallas Burn and their superstar striker.

Jason Kreis stole the show, picking up the league MVP, the Scoring Championship with 51 points, and catapulting his side to second place in the Western Conference.

Columbus Crew hitman Stern John tied Kreis’ goal mark with 18, but it was Roy Lassiter’s 18 goals that helped D.C. United to the Supporters’ Shield for a second straight year. The Galaxy took first place in the Western Conference, and despite strong seasons from the Burn and Crew, the Conference leaders would be the ones who made it to MLS Cup.

The final game of the Eastern Conference Finals was perhaps the most memorable of the season. Columbus had won game two of the series 5-1 with the red hot Stern John scoring a hat trick to pile the pressure on D.C. United. But D.C. replied in equally emphatic fashion with a 4-0 win in game three to book their place in the MLS Cup Final for a rematch of the ’96 final.

But despite LA and D.C.'s similarly dominating regular season performances, United would comfortably win their third title, two first half goals from Jaime Moreno and Ben Olsen allowing the Capital Club to cruise to a 2-0 victory over LA. In four seasons, the Black-and-Red had won three MLS titles, unquestionably establishing a dynasty in the young league.

Kevin Hartman won Goalkeeper of the Year in net for LA Galaxy, letting in just 29 goals in 32 games, as he began to carve out his extremely successful MLS career in California.

1999 MLS standings


Most Valuable Player: Jason Kreis – Dallas Burn
Goalkeeper of the Year: Kevin Hartman – LA Galaxy
Scoring Champion: Jason Kreis – Dallas Burn
Rookie of the Year: Jay Heaps – Miami Fusion
Defender of the Year: Robin Fraser – LA Galaxy
Goal of the Year: Marco Etcheverry – D.C. United at Miami Fusion – May 22, 1999
Coach of the Year: Sigi Schmid – LA Galaxy

1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013