2009 MLS Cup: Real Salt Lake vs. LA Galaxy

SEATTLE – Real Salt Lake edged the Los Angeles Galaxy 5-4 on penalty kicks to win the 2009 MLS Cup in front of 46,011 fans at Qwest Field in Seattle.

The two teams were deadlocked at 1-1 after regulation, with Mike Magee of the Galaxy opening the scoring in the 41st minute.

Real Salt Lake received an equalizer from forward Robbie Findley in 64th minute. A goalless remainder of the second half and overtime sent the match to penalties for only the second time in the league’s 14 year history.

A miss from LA’s Edson Buddle in the 7 round of PK’s opened the door for Real Salt Lake’s Robbie Russell to convert, propelling RSL to their first franchise title in just their fifth year of existence.

Real Salt Lake goalkeeper Nick Rimando earned MVP honors after denying three LA penalty kicks in the shootout, joining Tony Meola as the only other goalie to receive the award when he won it with the Kansas City Wizards in MLS Cup 2000.

Scoring Summary:
LA -- Mike Magee 2 (Landon Donovan 1, David Beckham 1) 41
RSL -- Robbie Findley 3 (unassisted) 64

Penalty Kicks Summary (After 120 minutes):

LA -- David Beckham, Goal
RSL -- Clint Mathis, Goal
LA -- Gregg Berhalter, Goal
RSL -- Robbie Findley, Goal
LA -- Jovan Kirovski, Saved
RSL -- Kyle Beckerman, Saved
LA -- Landon Donovan, High
RSL -- Ned Grabavoy, Goal
LA -- Mike Magee, Goal
RSL -- Andy Williams, Saved
LA -- Chris Klein, Goal
RSL -- Chris Wingert, Goal
LA -- Edson Buddle, Saved
RSL -- Robbie Russell, Goal

Misconduct Summary:
RSL -- Yura Movsisyan (caution; Tactical Foul) 14
LA -- Chris Birchall (caution; Reckless Tackle) 39

LA Galaxy -- Donovan Ricketts (Josh Saunders 66), Gregg Berhalter, Todd Dunivant, Sean Franklin, Omar Gonzalez (A.J. DeLaGarza 89), David Beckham, Chris Birchall (Chris Klein 79), Jovan Kirovski, Mike Magee, Edson Buddle, Landon Donovan.
Substitutes Not Used: Alan Gordon, Dema Kovalenko, Eddie Lewis, Yohance Marshall.

Real Salt Lake -- Nick Rimando, Nat Borchers, Jamison Olave, Robbie Russell, Chris Wingert, Kyle Beckerman, Will Johnson (Ned Grabavoy 48+), Javier Morales (Clint Mathis 22), Andy Williams, Robbie Findley, Yura Movsisyan (Fabian Espindola 75).
Substitutes Not Used: Kyle Reynish, Chris Seitz, Jean Alexandre, Tony Beltran, Pablo Campos

Referee: Kevin Stott
Referee's Assistants: C.J. Morgante; Rob Fereday
4th Official: Baldomero Toledo
Weather: Cloudy, 45 degrees
Attendance: 46,011


Who do you want to see on the field vs Real Madrid?

Help select the 2017 MLS All-Stars. Vote now for the MLS All-Star Game Fan XI presented by Target. Everyone that submits a ballot is entered to win a VIP trip to the 2017 MLS All-Star Game.