2005 MLS Cup: LA Galaxy vs. NE Revolution

FRISCO – The Los Angeles Galaxy nicked the New England Revolution in overtime to take a 1-0 MLS Cup  victory in front of 21,193 fans at Pizza Hut Park in Frisco, Texas.

In a rematch of the 2002 MLS Cup final, LA prevailed again after a Guillermo Ramirez goal in the 105th minute earned the Galaxy their second league title in franchise history.

The strike earned MVP honors for Ramirez, who guided a right-footed volley from the edge of the 18-yard box past Revolution goalkeeper Matt Reiss and into the back of the net.

It was déjà vu for New England, who, for the second time in four seasons, lost in the finals to Los Angeles 1-0 in overtime with a goal from a Guatemalan-born player. Then-Galaxy striker Carlos Ruiz connected with seven minutes remaining in the second overtime to secure the 2002 MLS Cup for Los Angeles.

This was the fourth occurrence since the league’s inception that the final has gone into extra time. The Galaxy has been involved in all four, splitting their decisions 2-2.

Scoring Summary:
LA -- Guillermo Ramirez 1 (unassisted) 105

Misconduct Summary:
NE -- Michael Parkhurst (caution; Reckless foul) 15
NE -- Joe Franchino (caution; Reckless foul) 22
LA -- Todd Dunivant (caution; Persistent fouling) 33
NE -- Shalrie Joseph (caution; Reckless foul) 37
NE -- James Riley (caution; Persistent fouling) 54
LA -- Paulo Nagamura (caution; Persistent fouling) 56
LA -- Tyrone Marshall (caution; Reckless foul) 69
NE -- Jay Heaps (caution; Reckless foul) 76
LA -- Herculez Gomez (caution; Persistent fouling) 78
LA -- Gino Padula (caution; Reckless foul) 81

LA Galaxy -- Kevin Hartman, Chris Albright, Todd Dunivant, Ugo Ihemelu, Tyrone Marshall, Ned Grabavoy (Guillermo Ramirez 66), Cobi Jones (Ednaldo da Conceicao 109), Paulo Nagamura, Peter Vagenas, Landon Donovan, Herculez Gomez (Alan Gordon 119).
Substitutes Not Used: Steve Cronin, Josh Saunders, Pablo Chinchilla, Michael Enfield, Troy Roberts, Marcelo Saragosa.

New England Revolution -- Matt Reis, Joe Franchino, Jay Heaps, Michael Parkhurst, Clint Dempsey, Daniel Hernandez (Andy Dorman 91+), Shalrie Joseph, Steve Ralston, James Riley (Ryan Latham 105), Pat Noonan (Jose Cancela 64), Taylor Twellman.
Substitutes Not Used: Connally Edozien, Jeff Larentowicz, Tony Lochhead, Ricardo Phillips, Luke Vercollone.

Referee: Baldomero Toledo
Referee's Assistants: Greg Barkey, Kermit Quisenberry
4th Official: Mark Geiger
Weather: Cloudy, 68 degrees
Attendance: 21,193