HIGHLIGHTS: LA Galaxy vs. NE Revolution | MLS Cup 2002

FOXBOROUGH – The Los Angeles Galaxy defeated the New England Revolution, 1-0, in overtime to win their first MLS Cup trophy in front of 61,316 fans at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Massachusetts.

Carlos Ruiz scored the game-winner for the Galaxy in the 113th minute to secure Los Angeles’s first league title in their fourth appearance in the championship game.

Ruiz, who earned MVP honors, had multiple opportunities to put Los Angeles on the board, but had been denied until the second period of extra time. A low cross on a Galaxy counterattack found the left foot of the Guatemalan striker who one-timed the ball into the right side of the net.

A record-setting crowd at the new Gillette Stadium saw the first scoreless half in MLS Cup history, as well as the first scoreless 90 minutes, before Ruiz’s tally dropped their hometown Revolution in the franchise’s first MLS Cup appearance.

MLS Cup VII: October 20, 2002
Gillette Stadium, Foxborough, Massachusetts
MVP: Carlos Ruiz (LA)

Scoring Summary:
LA -- Carlos Ruiz 8 (Tyrone Marshall 2, Chris Albright 1) 113

Misconduct Summary:
NE -- Joe Franchino (caution; Dangerous play) 25
NE -- Carlos Llamosa (caution; Dangerous play) 60
LA -- Simon Elliott (caution; Dangerous play) 95

LA Galaxy -- Kevin Hartman, Alexi Lalas, Danny Califf, Tyrone Marshall, Ezra Hendrickson, Sash Victorine, Mauricio Cienfuegos (Peter Vagenas 61), Simon Elliott, Cobi Jones, Alejandro Moreno (Chris Albright 67), Carlos Ruiz.

New England Revolution -- Adin Brown, Carlos Llamosa (Rusty Pierce 92+), Joe Franchino, Daouda Kante, Jay Heaps, Leo Cullen, Daniel Hernandez, Steve Ralston, Brian Kamler (Winston Griffiths 90), Taylor Twellman, Wolde Harris (Alex Pineda Chacon 76).

Referee: Kevin Terry
Referee's Assistants: Greg Barkey, Richard Eddy
4th Official: Michael Kennedy
Weather: Sunny, 65 degrees
Attendance: 61,316