HIGHLIGHTS: SJ Earthquakes vs. LA Galaxy | MLS Cup 2001

COLUMBUS – It took overtime to do it, but goals from Landon Donovan and Dwayne De Rosario pushed the San Jose Earthquakes to a 2-1 victory over the Los Angeles Galaxy in front of 21,626 fans at Columbus Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio. It is the Earthquakes’ first MLS Cup in their history.

The Galaxy opened the scoring in the 21st minute as Los Angeles’s Greg Vanney sent a 40-yard pass to Mexican-International Luis Hernández, who connected on a half-volley from just inside the 18-yard box to give the Galaxy a 1-0.

Two minutes before halftime, Donovan pulled one back for the Earthquakes, striking a one-time half-volley from 12 yards out off a cross from Richard Mulrooney that sailed into the top right corner of the net.

After a scoreless second half, the teams went into a golden goal overtime. In the 96th minute, San Jose’s Dwayne De Rosario, who was named the finals’ MVP, cut to his right and curved a ball into the right side of the net from the 18-yard box to secure the victory for the Earthquakes.

It was the first MLS Cup to match two teams from the same conference against each other, and the second title game to be settled in extra time. D.C. United defeated the Galaxy 3-2 in overtime in the inaugural MLS Cup in 1996.

MLS Cup VI: October 21, 2001
Columbus Crew Stadium, Columbus, Ohio
MVP: Dwayne De Rosario (SJ)

Scoring Summary:
LA -- Luis Hernandez 2 (Greg Vanney 1, Kevin Hartman 1) 21
SJ -- Landon Donovan 5 (Richard Mulrooney 3, Ian Russell 1) 43
SJ -- Dwayne De Rosario 2 (Ronnie Ekelund 2, Zak Ibsen 1) 96

Misconduct Summary:
SJ -- Jimmy Conrad (caution; Dangerous play) 28
LA -- Paul Caligiuri (caution; Dangerous play) 48
LA -- Danny Califf (caution; Dangerous play) 76
SJ -- Ronnie Ekelund (caution; Dangerous play) 78
SJ -- Zak Ibsen (caution; Dangerous play) 83

San Jose Earthquakes -- Joe Cannon, Jeff Agoos, Wade Barrett, Jimmy Conrad, Troy Dayak, Ramiro Corrales, Ronnie Ekelund, Richard Mulrooney, Ian Russell (Zak Ibsen 82), Ronald Cerritos (Dwayne De Rosario 85), Landon Donovan.

LA Galaxy -- Kevin Hartman, Danny Califf, Paul Caligiuri (Adam Frye 53), Ezra Hendrickson, Greg Vanney, Mauricio Cienfuegos, Simon Elliott, Peter Vagenas, Luis Hernandez, Cobi Jones, Sasha Victorine (Brian Mullan 75).

Referee: Kevin Stott
Referee's Assistants: Roger Itaya, Daniel Wilson
4th Official: Paul Tamberino
Weather: 68 degrees
Attendance: 21,626