HIGHLIGHTS: KC Wizards vs. Chicago Fire | MLS Cup 2000

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Kansas City Wizards bested the Chicago Fire, 1-0, to win the MLS Cup in front of 39,159 fans at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C.

In a matchup of the league’s best offense, Chicago, versus the league’s best defense, Kansas City, defense triumphed.

Wizards goalie Tony Meola earned MVP honors after one of the more impressive goalkeeping performances in MLS Cup history. Meola, who turned away 10 Chicago shots, added MLS Cup MVP to his regular season MVP, Comeback Player of the Year, and Best Goalkeeper awards for the 2000 season.

Miklos Molnar scored what would ultimately become the game-winner for the Wizards in just the 11th minute. Chris Klein made a solo run down the right flank before sending a low cross to the feet of the Danish-International who shuffled the ball past Chicago goalie Zach Thornton.

Chicago outshot Kansas City 20-6, but the Wizards survived to hoist the first MLS Cup trophy in franchise history.

MLS Cup V: October 15, 2000
RFK Stadium, Washington, D.C.
MVP: Tony Meola (KC)

Scoring Summary:
LA -- Miklos Molnar 5 (Chris Klein 2) 11

Misconduct Summary:
CHI -- Dema Kovalenko (caution; Dangerous play) 47
KC -- Mo Johnston (caution; Dangerous play) 48
KC -- Nick Garcia (caution; Dangerous play) 58
KC -- Tony Meola (caution; Dangerous play) 76
CHI -- Tenywa Bonseu (caution; Dangerous play) 76

Kansas City Wizards -- Tony Meola, Nick Garcia, Chris Klein (Francisco Gomez 89), Brandon Prideaux, Peter Vermes, Chris Henderson, Matt McKeon, Preki (Uche Okafor 74), Kerry Zavagnin, Mo Johnston, Miklos Molnar.

Chicago Fire -- Zach Thornton, Carlos Bocanegra, Tenywa Bonseu, C.J. Brown, Chris Armas, Diego Gutierrez (DaMarcus Beasley 70), Dema Kovalenko, Jesse Marsch, Peter Nowak (Lubos Kubik 83), Ante Razov, Hristo Stoitchkov.

Referee: Paul Tamberino
Referee's Assistants: Craig Lowry, George Vergara
4th Official: Kevin Stott
Attendance: 39,159