2005 All-Star Game
Getty Images

2005 MLS All-Star Game

2005 MLS All-Star Game photo gallery

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The MLS All-Stars defeated Fulham FC, 4-1, in front of 23,309 fans at Columbus Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio.

Taylor Twellman, who won MVP honors, struck first for the MLS All-Stars in the 23rd minute when he slid and poked home a feed from Landon Donovan.

Fulham would respond in the 34th minute when forward Luís Boa Morte was dragged down in the box by MLS defender Chris Albright. Danish international Claus Jensen calmly capitalized as he placed the ball into the lower right-hand corner, away from a diving Matt Reis.

The MLS All-Stars reclaimed the lead in the 56th minute when Ronnie O’Brien redirected a Clint Dempsey volley into the net. They never looked back, as Jeff Cunningham scored in both the 85th and 89th minutes to secure the victory for the MLS All-Stars.

This is the second time that the MLS All-Star Game has featured foreign competition. The MLS All-Stars downed the Mexican club Guadalajara, 3-1, in 2003.

Scoring summary
MLS—Twellman (Donovan) 23
FFC—C. Jensen (PK) 36
MLS—O'Brien (Dempsey) 56
MLS—Cunningham (Gomez, Parkhurst) 85
MLS—Cunningham (Joseph) 89

MLS: Matt Reis (Scott Garlick 89), Chris Albright (Ivan Guerrero 46), Jimmy Conrad, Greg Vanney, Frankie Hejduk, Ronnie O'Brien (Michael Parkhurst 84), Shalrie Joseph, Simo Valakari, Clint Dempsey (Jeff Cunningham 68), Taylor Twellman (Brad Davis 75), Landon Donovan (Christian Gomez 64)

Fulham: Mark Crossley (Jaroslav Drobny 31), Mortiz Volz, Carlos Bocanegra (Alain Goma 61), Zat knight, Niclas Jensen, Steed Malbranque (Ahmed Elrich 89), Claus Jensen, Zesh Rehman (Sylvain Legwinski 75), Luis Boa Morte, Brian McBride (Collins John 61), Tomasz Radzinski (Heider Helguson 68)
Subs Not Used: Liam Rosenour, Michael Timlin

Referees: Ricardo Valenzuela; George Gansner, Chris Strickland; Ricardo Salazar