2000 All-Star Game

2000 MLS All-Star Game

2000 MLS All-Star Game photo gallery

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The MLS All-Stars East defeated the MLS All-Stars West, 9-4 in front of 23,495 fans at Columbus Crew Stadium in Columbus.

The total of 13 goals scored is the highest in an All-Star game in the league’s five year history, and it did not take long for the scoring to start.

Clint Mathis found the back of the net in just the 2nd minute for the East, before Ante Razov (17’) and Mauricio Cienfuegos (19’) answered for the West. Razov would tally another in the 22nd minute to give the Western All-Stars a 3-1 lead.

Jaime Moreno (36’) and Adolfo Valencia (39’) leveled the score, but a 44th minute strike from Piotr Nowak gave the West a 4-3 halftime lead.

The next 45 minutes belonged entirely to the East.

Mark Chung opened the scoring with the first of six second-half goals in the 51st minute. Tampa Bay Mutiny forward, and game MVP, Mamadou Diallo tallied twice in the 59th and 61st minutes, and two more quick goals by Jay Heaps (65’) and Dante Washington (67’) put the game out of reach.

Brian McBride added another for good measure in the 76th minute to secure the 9-4 victory for the East.

The Eastern All-Stars are currently 3-1 against their counterparts from the West.

Scoring summary
EST—Mathis (Chung, Ammann) 2
WST—Razov (Jones, Preki) 17
WST—Cienfuegos (Jones) 19
WST—Razov (Jones, Azizi) 22
EST—Moreno (Chung) 36
EST—Valencia (Moreno) 39
WST—Nowak (Jones, Preki) 44
EST—Chung (McBride, Valderrama) 51
EST—Diallo (Valderrama) 59
EST—Diallo (Valderrama, Heaps) 61
EST—Heaps (Diallo, McBride) 64
EST—Washington (Petke) 67
EST—McBride (Washington, Valderrama) 76

WEST: Tony Meola (Zach Thornton 46), Robin Fraser (Peter Vermes 46), Greg Vanney, Marcelo Balboa, Khodadad Azizi (Chris Henderson 46), Preki (Azizi reenters 67, subbed off for Meola 80), Mauricio Cienfuegos (Luis Hernandez 46), Peter Nowak (Dario Brose 46), Chris Armas (Matt McKeon 32), Ante Razov (Jason Kreis 46), Cobi Jones (Ariel Graziani 46)

EAST: Mike Ammann (Scott Garlick 46), Eddie Pope (Mike Clark 32), Lothar Matthaus (Jay Heaps 46), Jeff Agoos (Mike Petke 34), John Harkes, Jaime Moreno (Brian McBride 46), Steve Ralston (Pablo Mastroeni 34), Carlos Valderrama, Mark Chung (Ammann reenters 88), Clint Mathis (Mamadou Diallo 46), Adolfo Valencia (Dante Washington 46)

Referees: Paul Tamberino; George Vergara, Robert Fereday