1999 All-Star Game

1999 MLS All-Star Game

1999 MLS All-Star Game photo gallery

SAN DIEGO – The MLS Western All-Stars defeated the MLS Eastern All-Stars, 6-4, in front of 23,227 fans at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego.

Roy Lassiter scored in the first minute of the match for the East, but their lead did not last long.

Preki found an equalizer for the West in the 13th minute, and a go-ahead goal from Roman Kosecki gave them a 2-1 advantage in the 32nd minute. Cobi Jones netted one of his own in the 36th minute before another tally from Preki, who earned MVP honors, in the 38th minute gave the West a 4-1 halftime lead.

A string of three unanswered second-half goals by the East brought things level once again.

A penalty kick by New England Revolution forward Joe-Max Moore in the 62nd minute, and strikes from Carlos Valderrama (73’) and Stern John (83’) capped the comeback.

It would be short-lived, however.

Two late goals from Mauricio Wright (84’) and Ronald Cerritos (89’) secured the victory for the West.

The MLS Western All-Stars recorded their first win over the East in three All-Star game tries.

Scoring summary
EST—Lassiter (McBride) 1
WST—Preki (Kosecki) 13
WST—Kosecki (Nowak, Lalas) 32
WST—Jones (Preki, Kubik) 36
WST—Preki (Kosecki) 38
EST—Moore (PK) 62
EST—Valderrama (Moreno) 73
EST—John (unassisted) 83
WST—Wright (Cerritos) 84
WST—Cerritos (Cienfuegos) 89

WEST: Zach Thornton (Matt Jordan 46), Marcelo Balboa (Lalas reenters 66, Kubik reenters 79), Lubos Kubik (Maurcio Wright 46), Alexi Lalas (Robin Fraser 46), Cobi Jones (Kosecki reenters 61), Eddie Lewis (Jason Kreis 46), Peter Nowak (Paul Bravo 46), Preki (Mauricio Cienfuegos 46), Chris Armas (Ross Paule 46), Raul Diaz Arce (Carlos Hermosillo 46), Roman Kosecki (Ronald Cerritos 46)

EAST: Tom Presthus (Walter Zenga 46), Eddie Pope (Robert Warzycha 46), Jeff Agoos (Leo Cullen 46), Thomas Dooley (Carlos Llamosa 46), Richie Williams (Stern John 46), John Harkes (Brian Maissoneuve 46), Carlos Valderrama, Marco Etcheverry, Ben Olsen (Mark Chung 46, out at 53), Brian McBride (Joe-Max Moore 46, reenter at 54 due to Chung injury), Roy Lassiter (Jaime Moreno 46)

Referees: Sandra Hunt; Tom Bodadilla, Jorge Reyes