Toronto FC 2008

9 W, 13 L, 8 T

7th, Eastern Conference

Team Leaders
Danny Dichio, 5 G
Rohan RIcketts, 4 A
Brian Edwards, 1.33 GAA
Greg Sutton, 116 SVS

Complete 2008 stats

John Carver

BMO Field

2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013

In their second season TFC again struggled to come to terms with life in the MLS, as they compiled a 9-13-8 record, to finish last in the Eastern Conference.

John Carver took over and Mo Johnston moved up to be Director of Soccer, however the side struggled once again to find the back of the net with any regularity, as they 37 goals in their 30 league games. Englishmen Danny Dichio and Rohan RIcketts spearheaded the club’s attacking assault, yet only managed five goals each to finish joint-top scorers for the Reds.

Their home form was sublime, cheered on by the fanatic Toronto natives they lost just twice at BMO field all year. However their away form was somewhat less impressive, recording just three victories in the US and losing 11 times on their travels.

Yet their early season form was more than acceptable as they went undefeated in a six-game stretch from Apr. 13 to May 24. That started after a fine 3-2 win away to LA Galaxy, courtesy of an 88th minute winner from Jeff Cunningham. Win against RSL and Kansas City made it three-in-a-row as the Canadians surged up the league standings. The run eventually came to an end in a 3-2 defeat to D.C. United, but in the unbeaten spell TFC had scored eight goals and conceded just three.

But this superb run was just a glimmer of hope for the Toronto fans, as their side won just three more games out of the next 14 games.

Outside of league play TFC competed in the inaugural Canadian Championship which was formed to decide who would represent Canada in the CONCACAF Champions League. Competing for the Voyageurs Cup, Toronto were favorites, however the Reds lost out to the Montreal Impact.

The 2008 MLS All-Star Game was in Toronto, and it showcased how much of soccer city The Queen City had become with a full-house on show to welcome the league’s All-Stars.