San Jose Earthquakes 2005

18 W, 4 L, 10 T

1st, Western Conference

Supporters' Shield

MLS Goalkeeper of the Year: Pat Onstad

Team Leaders
Dwayne De Rosario, 9 G
Dwayne De Rosario, 13 A
Pat Onstad, 0.97 GAA
Pat Onstad, 105 SVS

Complete 2005 stats

Dominic Kinnear

Spartan Stadium

1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013

Coming off a disappointing 2004 season, head coach Dominic Kinnear helped return the Quakes to their winning ways in 2005, despite losing a number of long-time standout members of the club before the start of the season. Bringing in 18 new players, including returnees to the team, Ronald Cerritos and Wade Barrett, Kinnear led the Quakes to the greatest regular season in team history with an 18-4-10 record and 64 points clinching the club's first Supporter's Shield, despite losing over 100 man games to injury. Newcomers Ricardo Clark, Kelly Gray, Danny Califf, Mark Chung, Brad Davis and Alejandro Moreno all played big parts in the Quakes 2005 success.

The team set the MLS record for the fewest losses in league history with four and became the second team in MLS history to surpass 60 points in a season. San Jose also set club records in the following categories: winning streak (6 games), road winning streak (6 games), shutouts (12), most road shutouts (4), most road wins (9), unbeaten streak (14 games) and most consecutive shutouts at home (5). Kinnear's squad became the first team in MLS history to finish the regular season unbeaten at home (9-0-7), while stretching their all-time unbeaten streak at home to 18 games, another MLS record. San Jose posted a +22 goal difference, the best in team history with 53 goals scored and 31 allowed.

Despite the great regular season success, the Quakes were eliminated for the second straight season in the Western Conference Semifinals. After losing 3-1 on the road to the Los Angeles Galaxy in the first leg of the series, the Quakes could not comeback and fell 4-2 overall on aggregate.

Dwayne De Rosario had the best season of his five-year MLS career in 2005 to lead the Quakes. Moving from forward to attacking midfielder, the Canadian international recorded career-highs in goals (9) and assists (9) and finished runner-up in the Honda MLS MVP race. He also earned his second straight Sierra Mist MLS Goal of the Year award for his spectacular free kick on Oct.15 against the Los Angeles Galaxy.

Also having standout seasons for the Quakes were goalkeeper Pat Onstad and defender Danny Califf, who were both named to the RadioShack MLS Best XI team. Onstad was also named the MLS Goalkeeper of the Year for a season in which he led the league in wins (18), shutouts (12), goals against average (0.97) and save percentage (77.2). It was the second Goalkeeper of the Year award for the 37-year-old Canadian, who also moved into first place in team history with his 27th career shutout on Oct. 1 against New England. Califf helped stabilize the defense after coming over in a trade with the Galaxy, appearing in 20 games and scoring two goals. Along with Eddie Robinson, Califf helped form the most formidable central defense tandem in MLS.

Cerritos, the all-time leading goal scorer in team history, made a strong return to San Jose in 2005, after spending three seasons away from the team. Cerritos finished the year with six goals and eight assists to push his all-time totals to 61 goals and 47 assists, both team records. Cerritos notched his record-breaking 46th assist on August 6 against the Columbus Crew.

2005 also saw two original members of the team honored on the field at Spartan Stadium. The team inducted John Doyle as the inaugural member of the San Jose Earthquakes Hall of Fame, while Troy Dayak was honored in a post-game ceremony after announcing his retirement. Doyle's number was unveiled in Spartan Stadium along with a Hall of Fame banner at halftime of the team's Aug. 27 game against the Los Angeles Galaxy. Doyle was the first signing in the team's history on Dec. 7, 1995 and had a standout career with San Jose. The team captain during every year of his tenure, Doyle appeared in 132 games during his five seasons in San Jose and scored 11 goals and notched 15 assists. He was named the 1996 MLS Defender of the Year and made the MLS Best XI that year as well. The Fremont, Calif. native also earned a spot in the MLS All-Star Game in 1996 and 1997. Since his retirement following the 2000 season, Doyle spent three years as the color commentator on Quakes broadcasts before serving as the assistant coach in 2004 and 2005.

Dayak announced his retirement from the Earthquakes after spending eight seasons with the team and overcoming two potential career-ending injuries. Dayak played for San Jose from 1996-1998 and then returned to the team in 2001 after overcoming a severe neck injury that required surgery and torn knee ligaments. The former Livermore High School standout was a major factor in the Quakes 2001 MLS Cup Championship victory as he missed only one game in 2001 and was named the MLS Comeback Player of the Year, while also earning a spot on the MLS All-Star team. His overtime header against the Miami Fusion in the MLS Cup Playoff Semifinals sent San Jose to their first MLS Cup. Despite being hampered by injuries following that season, "The Beast" still helped San Jose win their second MLS Cup in 2003, while being one of MLS' elite teams in 2002, 2004 and 2005. He was honored on the Spartan Stadium field in a post-game ceremony on October 8, where he was presented a commemorative Earthquakes belt buckle.

On December 15, 2005, after the greatest regular season in team history with an 18-4-10 record and 64 points clinching the club's first Supporter's Shield, the Earthquakes were placed on hiatus by the League, with their players and coaching staff moving to Houston where they now play as the Houston Dynamo.