Philadelphia Union

2010 - present

Nicknames: Zolos, The U


Stadium: PPL Park

Owner: Keystone Sports & Entertainment

Current Roster

Every club is indebted to their fans in one way or another. The Philadelphia Union are unique in that they may owe their existence to their supporters.

In 2007, soccer fans in the City of Brotherly Love founded the Sons of Ben, a supporters' group for an MLS team that didn't yet exist. Over the next year, growing membership and active lobbying to MLS convinced the league to add Philadelphia as an expansion franchise. After a vote from the same fans that had helped bring MLS to the city, the club announced their "Union" moniker in 2009.

Much as the Sons of Ben drew on Philadelphia's history - the group's name is a reference to Benjamin Franklin, one of the city's most famous figures - the Union drew heavily upon their new home's history in developing their identity. The name "Union" represented the union between the 13 colonies during the Revolutionary War, and their colors - navy blue and gold - are a tribute to the uniforms of the Continental Army. The crest includes 13 stars and a rattlesnake in recognition of the famous "Join Or Die" cartoon drawn by Franklin in 1754. The crest also features a baby blue background in honor of the Sons of Ben, who took the color from the flag of Philadelphia for their logo.

With the force of tradition behind them, the Union began the 2010 season playing their home games at Lincoln Financial Field, the home of the Philadelphia Eagles. On June 27, however, the club opened play at their brand new home: PPL Park. Backed by a raucous crowd, the Union ran out 3-1 winners to emphatically announce what their fans had been longing to hear: Soccer had arrived in Philly.

Notable Players

  • Alejandro Moreno
  • Danny Mwanga
  • Freddy Adu
  • Faryd Mondragon
  • Sebastien Le Toux
  • Justin Mapp
  • Carlos Ruiz
  • Michael Orozco Fiscal
  • Eduardo Coudet
  • Veljko Paunovic
  • Maurice Edu
  • Conor Casey

Notable Coaches

  • Peter Nowak, 2010-2012
  • Jason Hackworth, 2012-2014
  • Jim Curtin, 2014-present

2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013