New England Revolution

1996 - present

Nicknames: Revs


US Open Cup 2007

Stadium: Gillette Stadium

Owner: Robert Kraft

Current Roster

Drawing on the region's role in helping the US win independence from the British Empire, the New England Revolution joined MLS in 1996 as one of the league's original 10 teams with a depicition of the American flag as their badge and an unabashed American influence on the field with players like Joe-Max Moore, Alexi Lalas and Mike Burns.

Despite their veteran talent, the Revs struggled to find success in their early years. New England finally made a deep run into the MLS playoffs in 2002, advancing to an MLS Cup showdown with the Los Angeles Galaxy. Though they lost that final, the Revs again made it to MLS Cup in 2005. Once again, however, New England lost on the cusp of taking home the title. The story would repeat itself during the 2006 and 2007 seasons, giving the Revs four MLS Cup appearances in five years, no league championships and the dubious nickname of "the Buffalo Bills of MLS" in honor of the NFL team that lost four straight Super Bowls from 1991 to 1994.

After some lean years in the late 2000's saw longtime head coach Steve Nicol get the axe, the Revs returned to their winning ways under former player and up-and-coming manager Jay Heaps. After a four-year drought, Heaps returned New England to the playoffs in 2013. The club improved upon its strong 2013 showing with a very impressive 2014, with the midseason signing of US international Jermaine Jones propelling the Revs to yet another MLS Cup appearance. Unfortunately for New England, this appearance would only mark more heartbreak, with the Revs falling 2-1 after extra-time at the victorious LA Galaxy. 

Notable Players

  • Taylor Twellman
  • Shalrie Joseph
  • Steve Ralston
  • Jay Heaps
  • Michael Parkhurst
  • Clint Dempsey
  • Pat Noonan
  • Joe-Max Moore
  • Jeff Larentowicz
  • Lee Nguyen
  • Jermaine Jones
  • A.J. Soares
  • Jose Goncalves


  • Frank Stapleton, 1996
  • Thomas Rongen, 1997-98
  • Walter Zenga, 1999
  • Steve Nicol, 1999 (interim)
  • Fernando Clavijo, 2000-2002
  • Steve Nicol, 2002-2011
  • Jay Heaps, 2012-present

1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013