New England Revolution 2007

14 W, 8 L, 8 T

2nd, Eastern Conference

US Open Cup

MLS Defender of the Year: Michael Parkhurst

Team Leaders
Taylor Twellman, 16 G
Steve Ralston, 14 A
Matt Reis, 1.43 GAA
Matt Reis, 120 SVS

Complete 2007 stats

Steve Nicol

Gillette Stadium

1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013

The Revs resumed their place at or near the top of the Eastern Conference standings, finishing second after another consistent season under Nicol, the longest-tenured coach in MLS. Midyear, the team won its first-ever cup championship, winning the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup behind a 3-2 victory at FC Dallas on Oct. 3 as rookie Wells Thompson scored the game-winner in the second half. The team uncharacteristically entered the playoffs winless in their final three regular-season matches, but once again reached the MLS Cup championship match, defeating the New York Red Bulls in the Eastern Conference Semifinal Series (1-0 on aggregate) and Chicago, 1-0 in the Revs' record-setting sixth consecutive Eastern Conference Championship match. At MLS Cup 2007, New England and the Houston Dynamo played the first-ever rematch of the previous year's final with the Dynamo repeating the 2006 result and taking a 2-1 victory at RFK Stadium in Washington. Taylor Twellman scored his league-leading third playoff goal in the first half, but Houston struck twice in the second to repeat as champions.