New England Revolution 2004

8 W, 13 L, 9 T

4th, Eastern Conference

MLS Scoring Co-Champion: Pat Noonan
Rookie of the Year: Clint Dempsey

Team Leaders
Pat Noonan, 11 G
Jose Cancela, 10 A
Matt Reis, 1.36 GAA
Matt Reis, 97 SVS

Complete 2004 stats

Steve Nicol

Gillette Stadium

1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013

It was a rollercoaster season, with the Revs earning a 1-4-2 mark through April and May before stringing together a seven-game midsummer unbeaten run. Injuries to key players saw others like Andy Dorman and Matt Reis step up, but as September began, the Revs sat in last place. However, the Revs made another late-season push - going 3-2-0 down the stretch - and used a 2-1 home victory over the Chicago Fire on the last night of the season to clinch a playoff berth. New England defeated the Columbus Crew in the conference semifinals - helped by Reis’ two penalty kick saves in Game Two of the series. The Revs then played D.C. United in the Eastern Conference Final at RFK Stadium, a 3-3 thriller widely considered MLS’ best match ever. New England lost to the eventual champions on penalty kicks after three times coming back from one-goal deficits, capped by Pat Noonan’s 85th minute equalizer. Also in 2004, Taylor Twellman scored his 42nd goal as a member of the Revolution to become the club’s all-time leading goal scorer and Clint Dempsey earned MLS Rookie of the Year honors.