Kansas City Wizards 2006

10 W, 14 L, 8 T

5th, Eastern Conference

Team Leaders
Scott Sealy, 10 G
Jose Burciaga, Jr. and Sasha Victorine, 8 A
Bo Oshoniyi, 1.41 GAA
Bo Oshoniyi, 95 SVS

Complete 2006 stats

Bob Gansler, Brian Bliss, Curt Onalfo

Arrowhead Stadium

1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013

For the second consecutive year, the Wizards missed the playoffs on the final day of the season, losing to the New York Red Bulls 3-2 when needing only a draw to advance to the postseason. However, Wizards fans will always remember 2006 for the Aug. 31 purchase of the team by OnGoal, LLC from the Hunt Sports group, ending 20 months of purgatory. Missing the playoffs on the last day of the season for a second consecutive year was a disappointment, but 2006 will not be remembered for events on the field. The Wizards began a new era as an ownership group now known as Sporting Club purchased the club from the Hunt Sports Group. New ownership brought about a change on the soccer side as well as the business. Former Wizards great Peter Vermes was brought in as the Technical Director, and he hired Curt Onalfo as the Head Coach.

The team traded for U.S. National Team and FC Dallas striker Eddie Johnson in the preceding offseason, as well as trading one hometown favorite for another: Diego Gutierrez of Blue Springs High and Rockhurst College fame was traded for former Rockhurst High Hawklet Will John. 2006 also saw three Wizards (Jimmy Conrad, Johnson and Josh Wolff) play for the U.S. in the World Cup, with Jimmy Conrad excelling as a substitute in the team's 1-1 draw with Italy.

This was Jose Burciaga's breakout year, as he scored 8 goals, several of them spectacular, in earning MLS Best XI honors for the first time. Jimmy Conrad earned his third consecutive selection to the all-league squad, and also led the MLS All-Stars to a memorable victory over London giants Chelsea FC.


PLAYOFF FINISH: Did not qualify

KEY ACQUISITION: Eddie Johnson (trade)


MVP: Jose Burciaga, Jr. Golden Boot: Scott Sealy. Defender of the Year: Nick Garcia. Humanitarian of the Year: Bo Oshoniyi


MLS Best XI: Jose Burciaga, Jr., Jimmy Conrad. MLS All-Stars: Jimmy Conrad