Houston Dynamo

2006 - present

Nicknames: Dynamo, Orange men, Orange Crush, La Naranja, The Men in Orange, The Orange


MLS Cup: 2006, 2007

Stadium: BBVA Compass Stadium

Owner: Phillip Anschutz, (AEG) Jim Brener, (Brener International Group) Oscar De La Hoya, (Golden Boy Promotions)

Current Roster

The Dynamo moved to Houston from San Jose in December 2005, playing their first season in the Lone Star State in 2006. The club quickly became one of the league's leading franchises upon its arrival in Houston, winning MLS Cup championships in 2006 and 2007 and contending for both domestic and international titles ever since. 

The name Dynamo was chosen because it is symbolic of Houston being a "hard-working, risk-taking kind of town." It also refers to the significant energy-based industrial economy present in the city.

Dominic Kinnear took the reigns as the club's first head coach in 2006 and immediately created somewhat of a dynasty, winning two-straight titles upon the club's entry into MLS. Key players such as Brian Ching, Brad Davis and Dwayne De Rosario were influential in the early success of the franchise, and the Dynamo built on its championship runs under the steady stewardship of Kinnear.

Houston are joint owned by AEG, Brener International group and former world and Olympic boxing champion Oscar De La Hoya. The ownership group orchestrated the Dynamo's move from the University of Houston's Robertson Stadium to the club's own soccer-specific facility, opening sparkling BBVA Compass Stadium in downtown Houston during the 2012 season. 

On the field, the club continued its success at the start of the new decade, making consecutive appearances in MLS Cup in 2011 and 2012. Unfortunately for the Dynamo, they came up short on both occasions, falling at the victorious LA Galaxy both years. 

The Dynamo were dealt a blow on the bench after the 2014 season, when Kinnear left Houston to return to his hometown San Jose to manage the Earthquakes. The club quickly lined up his replacement, bringing in former English Premier League manager Owen Coyle to take the reins. Regardless of the off-the-field turnover, one thing is for certain: The Dynamo have been, and will likely continue to be, a major player in MLS. 

Notable Players

  • Brian Ching
  • Dwayne De Rosario
  • Brad Davis
  • Eddie Robinson
  • Paul Dalglish
  • Stuart Holden
  • Brian Mullan
  • Richard Mulrooney
  • Ricardo Clark
  • Pat Onstad
  • Boniek Garcia
  • DaMarcus Beasley


  • Dominic Kinnear, 2006-2014
  • Owen Coyle, 2014-present

2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014