FC Dallas 2009

11 W, 13 L, 6 T

7th, Western Conference

MLS Golden Boot: Jeff Cunningham

Team Leaders
Jeff Cunningham, 17 G
Dave van den Bergh, 11 A
Dario Sala, 1.51 GAA
Ray Burse, 62 SVS

Complete 2009 stats

Schellas Hyndman

Pizza Hut Park

In 2009 Hyndman’s side again missed the playoffs as a true rebuilding process was taking place. Their record of 11-13-6 was slightly better than the previous year. Yet their away form was perhaps the most worrying point to come out of Hyndman’s second year in charge, after losing 10 out of their 15 road games (third worst record in MLS.)

Dallas struggled hugely at the beginning of the year, winning just four of their first 18 games. However the one silver lining was their home form, as they had the fifth best home record in the league at 8-3-4.

The offense exploded with Jeff Cunningham grabbing 17 goals as Dallas ranked first in the league in goals scored, with 50 goals to their name. Cunningham was the MLS scoring champion, and was also named in the MLS Best XI for the 2009 season as goals flowed throughout the year. Dallas also scored six times in the same game on two occasions, a 6-0 victory over the Kansas City Wizards and the 6-3 win over the LA Galaxy. However just as goals were easy to score for the Texas side, they were also alarmingly easy to concede. FC Dallas finished second to worst in goals against, letting in 49 goals in 30 games. Goal scoring machine Kenny Cooper was also sorely missed, after scoring seven times in his first 15 appearances, the teams former MVP was transferred to 1860 Munich for a reported $860,000.

Yet despite a second straight year out of the playoffs, Hyndman was given more time in charge as emerging youngster such as Brek Shea began to appear on the fringes of the first team. With is nurturing charm and attention to detail, Hyndman had proven a bright future could be on the horizon for FCD. Their attacking style of play won them many fans across the league, however their inability to turn their fast, fluid and cavalier play into wins was their ultimate downfall in a transitional 2009 season.

1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014