Dallas Burn 1996

17 W, 15 L

2nd, Western Conference

MLS Goalkeeper of the Year: Mark Dodd

Team Leaders
Jason Kreis, 13 G
Diego Sonora and Gerell Elliott, 19 A
Mark Dodd, 1.46 GAA
Mark Dodd, 160 SVS

Complete 1996 stats

Dave Dir

Cotton Bowl

The Dallas Burn became a charter member club of Major League Soccer on June 6, 1995, selected along with Kansas City and Colorado to give the league 10 teams for its initial year. Known originally as the Dallas Burn, the team’s original colors (red and black) and logo (fire-breathing horse) were unveiled at a gala in New York City on October 17, 1995. That same day, MLS announced that Mexican-icon Hugo Sanchez was allocated to the team as its first player in team history.

Six months later, Dallas played its first MLS game, defeating the San Jose Clash in front of 27,779 fans at the Cotton Bowl in Dallas on April 14, 1996.

The Burn with Jason Kreis and coach Dave Dir, would become one of MLS's better teams as they used a midseason 5-game winning streak to earn their first playoff berth with a record of 17–15. In the playoffs, the Burn would be defeated by the Kansas City Wiz in three games.

Soon after Jason Kreis scored the first goal in team history in a 3-0 win over Kansas City and Hugo Sanchez also played in first game for the Burn.

Later on in the year Dallas added Rene Ortiz to roster after MLS expanded rosters to 20 players before making the first player trade in team history sending John Kerr to the New England Revolution for defender Zak Ibsen.

Dallas proved to be very active in the trade market throughout the year as they sold Washington Rodriguez to F.C. Liverpool in Uruguay. The Burn then traded its available allocation spot to the Columbus Crew for forward Dante Washington and Columbus' first-round draft pick in the 1997 MLS Draft.

On Aug. 25 Dallas clinched first playoff berth in team history by defeating LA, 3-2. A month later Dallas won the franchises first ever playoff game on Sept. 29, 2-1 against Kansas City. However they would fall to a heartbreaking 3-2 overtime shoot out loss to KC as the curtain came down on the Texas side's inaugural season.

1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014