1994 vs. 2011: Tab Ramos, Landon Donovan

US Poll: 1994 World Cup team or 2011 Gold Cup team?

Nearly two decades after one of the most historic matches in US Soccer history, the San Jose Earthquakes will pay tribute on Saturday to the 1994 US World Cup team that captivated the nation and fixed all eyes that summer on Stanford Stadium on July 4.

Anchored by the likes of US legends Tab Ramos, Tony Meola, Alexi Lalas and Cobi Jones, the Americans reached the Round of 16 before they fell to the eventual champions Brazil, 1-0 before a packed house that baked in the Independence Day sun in Palo Alto, Calif.

But as the Quakes pay tribute to the team during their match against the New York Red Bulls on Saturday (10:30 pm ET, ESPN2, ESPN Deportes), it’s time to take quick stock of that team and whether or not they could hold their own against the best and brightest the US has to offer now.

So here’s the question: Could the 1994 World Cup team beat the 2011 Gold Cup team?

A quick look at the starting lineups for both:

1994: Tony Meola; Paul Caligiuri, Alexi Lalas, Marcelo Balboa, Fernando Clavijo; Hugo Perez, Thomas Dooley, Mike Sorber, Tab Ramos, Cobi Jones; Earnie Stewart.

2011: Tim Howard; Eric Lichaj, Carlos Bocanegra, Clarence Goodson, Steve Cherundolo; Alejandro Bedoya, Michael Bradley, Jermaine Jones, Freddy Adu, Landon Donovan; Clint Dempsey.

What do you think? Vote now!

MLS All-Stars vs. Real Madrid is August 2. Limited tickets left!

Time is running out for your chance to see European champions Real Madrid face the best of MLS. Get your tickets to the 2017 MLS All-Star Game presented by Target.

More about All-Star  |  Event schedule