Lesson of the day: Diving is bad, and the ball doesn't lie – Chinese FA Cup version | SIDELINE

Today's dive of the day comes from the Chinese FA Cup, and the appalling offender is Shanghai Shenhua midfielder Cao Yunding.

It is one of the most disgraceful con artist jobs that soccer has ever seen. Cao takes — not one, not two, not three, not four — but five full steps forward before flinging himself to the ground. That's half the length of the 18-yard-box.

We can only hope that the Chinese FA's Disciplinary Committee will have a look at Cao's dive and think not so highly of it. 

The only saving grace is that, at least it seems, the referee was going to make the penatly taker, Giovanni Moreno, take the ensuing penalty over and over again until he missed it. So thanks to Moreno for missing on the first retake, rather than prolonging this tedious scenario any longer.

So here is your lesson of the day, young soccer players of North America: Please do not dive, because there will be ridicule, and the ball, as evidenced above, (usually) doesn't lie.