ESPN Deportes to broadcast Chicago doubleheader

ESPN Deportes, the 24-hour Spanish-language sports network, will feature exclusive, live coverage of one of the most anticipated soccer matches to take place in the U.S. this year, the friendly match featuring Spanish powerhouse Real Madrid vs. Club Deportivo Guadalajara on Saturday, July 16, at 5:30 p.m. CT / 6:30 p.m. ET.

Real Madrid, the nine-time European club champions, will face Mexican power Club Deportivo Guadalajara at Chicago's Soldier Field. The match will be the second game of a doubleheader that will also feature an MLS regular season clash between the Chicago Fire and the Columbus Crew, which will also be televised on ESPN Deportes. Real Madrid, winner of 29 Spanish league titles, is widely recognized as one of the world's most popular soccer clubs. The team features several of the world's greatest players, including David Beckham, Ronaldo, Zinedine Zidane, Michael Owen, Roberto Carlos and team captain Raul.

Club Deportivo Guadalajara, known as Chivas Rayadas de Guadalajara, will be coming off a historic run in the prestigious Copa Libertadores, the regional championship for clubs from South America and Mexico. One of Mexico's most popular clubs with a long-standing policy of fielding only Mexican players, Chivas features a selection of players from Mexico's national team, including goalkeeper Oswaldo Sanchez and forward Adolfo "Bofo" Bautista. With 10 League championships and seven CONCACAF championships, Chivas is one of Mexico's most storied teams.

ESPN Deportes Telecast Information:

  • Commentator team: Veteran ESPN Deportes announcer Luis Omar Tapia (play-by-play) and World Cup legend Mario Kempes will call the action onsite, with Jaime Motta reporting from the field.
  • Columbus Crew @ Chicago Fire, (3:00 p.m. CT / 4:00 p.m. ET.) - ESPN Deportes MLS announcing team featuring Randy Alvarez (play-by-play) and Claudio Jijon (analysis).
  • Pre-game Special (5:00 p.m. CT / 6:00 p.m. ET.) - Mexican soccer star Daniel "el Ruso" Brailovsky will provide analysis, predictions, and commentary on the match.
  • Real Madrid vs. CD Guadalajara (6:30 p.m., CT / 7:30 p.m. ET)
  • Post SportsCenter Special, (7:30 p.m., CT / 8:30 p.m. ET) - Featuring live post-game analysis and interviews from onsite.
  • ESPN's Spanish-language website, will also offer comprehensive news and information throughout the match. Highlights include real-time scores and statistics, game re-cap and box scores, pre-match and post-match analysis and an interactive chat session hosted by ESPN Deportes commentator Luis Omar Tapia.