Tony Quinn/MLS/

D.C. United release partial preseason training schedule

WASHINGTON, D.C. - D.C. United announced Friday tentative plans for the club's 2005 pre-season training schedule. The MLS Cup Champions will gather Friday, January 28th to begin preparation for the 2005 CONCACAF Champions Cup and the 2005 Major League Soccer season. In addition to sessions in Washington, DC, United will travel to the IMG Soccer Academy in Bradenton, FL, and Honolulu, Hawaii for portions of their pre-season training schedule and will participate in a number of scrimmages and exhibitions in preparation of their March 9th and 16th Champions Cup fixtures and their April 2nd regular season opener.

Highlights of the early portion of the pre-season schedule are listed below, though the schedule is subject to change. Any additions to the schedule will be announced in the upcoming weeks. Members of the media planning to attend a preseason practice or game should contact the D.C. United Communications staff in advance.

Full season, half season and flex ticket plans are now on sale through the D.C. United office at 202-587-5000. Tickets are also now on sale for the March 9th CONCACAF Champions Cup match at the Maryland SoccerPlex in Germantown, MD. This game is not part of D.C. United's ticket packages.

Individual match tickets to the April 9th home opener will go on sale February 18, 2005. Prices range from $16 for Spectator level (endline) seating through $40 for Mezzanine level seating. Group pricing (minimum of 20 tickets) ranges from $13 (Spectator) to $30 (Mezzanine). Individual match tickets will be available through all TicketMaster outlets, via, via, via TicketMaster Phone Charge and at the RFK Stadium box office. Group tickets are also available through the D.C. United office.

2005 Preseason Schedule (All Times ET, subject to change)

Friday, January 28: Team meeting at RFK Stadium
Monday, January 31 and Tuesday, February 1: Training in Washington, DC
Wednesday, February 2: Travel to Bradenton, FL
Wednesday, February 2 to Wednesday, February 16: Training in Bradenton, FL
Saturday, February 5: Exhibition Match versus Columbus Crew
Tuesday, February 8: Exhibition Match versus Real Salt Lake
Sunday, February 13: Exhibition Match versus U.S. U-20 National Team
Tuesday, February 15: Exhibition Match versus MetroStars
Wednesday, February 16: Return to Washington, DC
Thursday, February 17: D.C. United Corporate Reception
Thursday, February 17 and Friday, February 18: Training in Washington, DC
Sunday, February 20: Travel to Honolulu, Hawaii
Monday, February 21 to Sunday, February 27: Training in Honolulu, Hawaii
Saturday, February 26: Exhibition Match versus the Los Angeles Galaxy
Sunday, February 27: Return to Washington, DC
Wednesday, March 9: CONCACAF Champions Cup 1st Leg versus Harbour View FC (JAM) at Maryland SoccerPlex in Germantown, MD
Wednesday, March 16: CONCACAF Champions Cup 2nd Leg versus Harbour View FC (JAM) at Harbour View Stadium in Kingston, Jamaica
Saturday, April 2: MLS Season Opener at CD Chivas USA