Plenty of talent in expansion draft field

  • Official press release
  • Complete list

    A handful of big names highlight the list of players left unprotected for
    Friday's MLS Expansion Draft, through which the two new MLS teams, Real Salt
    Lake and Club Deportivo Chivas USA, will stock a portion of their rosters.

    The two expansion clubs will have several talented goalkeepers, all of whom
    have served as starters at some point this season, to choose from, including Kansas City Wizards 'keeper Tony Meola, MetroStars 'keeper Jonny Walker and Chicago Fire backstop Henry Ring. Meola is one of the most successful goalkeepers in MLS history and a former MVP, while Walker, with his experience playing for soccer clubs in Chile and his ability to speak Spanish, may appeal to CD Chivas USA. Ring stepped into the
    starter's role in Chicago this year, but it seems the Fire have ended their
    dilemma of having to choose between him or Zach Thornton by leaving the
    younger of the two exposed.

    In Dallas, Scott Garlick was left open to selection after seeing his
    starting job taken by Jeff Cassar, and the New England
    Revolution decided not to protect Adin Brown after the remarkable
    performances turned in by reserve 'keeper Matt Reis during Brown's extended
    recovery from a midseason concussion.

    Some veteran field players were left unprotected by their teams, as well,
    including three team captains. Revs defender and captain Joey
    Franchino appears on New England's unprotected list and the MLS Cup champion D.C. United left their captain Ryan Nelsen unprotected, while San Jose
    Earthquakes skipper Jeff Agoos, who has won a record five MLS Cups, is also
    available for selection Friday. Joining Agoos on the Quakes' unprotected
    list is midfielder Ronnie Ekelund, a player who was an unsung hero in the
    Quakes' run to an MLS Cup title in 2003. Another big midfield name on the list of available players is Preki, the 41-year-old two-time MVP who missed nearly all of the 2004 season for the Kansas City Wizards after suffering a broken leg and dislocated ankle before the season.

    Chicago Fire midfielder Andy Williams could continue his role as a journeyman
    if he is chosen at the end of the week, and midfielder Brian Maisonneuve,
    one of only three players to have been with only one team for each of MLS' nine seasons, could see his run with the Columbus Crew come to an end. Colorado
    Rapids' defender Antonio de la Torre is on his club's unprotected list, the
    Mexico native's stint with the Mile High club possibly coming to a close
    after just one season.

    Elsewhere, two young and promising midfielders were left open to selection.
    The Los Angeles Galaxy's Marcelo Saragosa is unprotected after a strong
    season in which he asserted himself as a talented defensive midfielder and
    the MetroStars' Pablo Brenes is also available. Brenes' brightest moments in
    2004 came with Costa Rica's team at the Olympic Games in Athens.

    D.C. United left unprotected a total of eight players who helped the team lift the cup this season. In addition to Nelsen, United's list includes midfielders Kevin Ara, Tim Lawson, Eliseo Quintanilla and Earnie Stewart (who has said he is returning to Holland this winter), defender Ezra Hendrickson, goalkeeper Troy Perkins and forward Thiago Martins.

    The 2004 MLS Cup runner-up Kansas City Wizards have made six players available for selection Friday. They are Meola, Preki, midfielders Francisco Gomez and Igor Simutenkov, forward Matt Taylor and defender Alex Zotinca.

    Aside from Ring and Williams, the Chicago Fire left unprotected midfielders
    Alexandre Boucicaut and Scott Buete, defenders Evan Whitfield and Orlando
    Perez, forward Dipsy Selolwane and goalkeeper D.J. Countess. The Rapids
    elected not to protect midfielders Joey DiGiamarino and Darryl Powell,
    defenders de la Torre, Jeff Stewart and Seth Trembly and goalkeeper Scott
    Vallow, while the Crew did the same with Maisonneuve, defenders
    Nelson Akwari and Stephen Herdsman, midfielders Eric Denton and Manny Lagos,
    goalkeeper Matt Jordan and forwards Erick Scott, David Testo and Dante

    FC Dallas' unprotected list includes Garlick, defenders Matt
    Behncke and Philip Salyer, midfielders Ty Maurin and Oscar Pareja and
    forward Toni Nhleko. The Galaxy did not protect Saragosa,
    defender Paul Broome, goalkeeper Dan Popik or midfielder Arturo Torres.

    Forward Sergio Galvan Rey, midfielders Tim Regan and Joselito Vaca, defender
    Craig Ziadie and goalkeeper Zach Wells join Walker and Brenes on the
    MetroStars' unprotected list, while the New England Revolution's list
    consists of Brown, Franchino, defenders Steve Howey, Brian Kamler, Carlos
    Llamosa and Rusty Pierce and forward Joe-Max Moore.

    Joining Agoos and Ekelund on the Earthquakes' list of unprotected
    players are forwards Chris Brown and Jamil Walker, goalkeeper Jon Conway and
    defenders Wes Hart and Chris Roner.

    Jason Halpin is a contributor to This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Soccer or its clubs.

  • To report a comment, mouseover or touch the comment and then click/touch the flag icon (Flag).