MLS Supplemental Draft set for Friday

which was held Jan. 14 in Baltimore -- the Supplemental Draft order is based on reverse order of finish in 2004, with Real Salt Lake and CD Chivas USA, the league's expansion teams in 2005, picking first and second respectively in each round. The 2005 SuperDraft was also a four-round event, with the traditional fifth and sixth rounds from years past being dropped and instead made the first and second rounds of the Supplemental Draft.

Each team will be given three minutes to make their selections in each round, while there will also be a three-minute break between rounds. If a team fails to make their selection within the allotted time, they must wait until the following team has made their selection, regardless of whether or not the first team's choice is presented prior to the second team's. The team that was delinquent in its selection must immediately have its choice in hand after the following team has made their pick. If not, the original team must again wait for the following team to make their selection.

One key difference between the SuperDraft and the Supplemental Draft will be the absence of trades. The league will impose a trade moratorium from Thursday at 5 p.m. ET until the conclusion of the Supplemental Draft.

The complete Supplemental Draft order is as follows:


1. Real Salt Lake

2. CD Chivas USA

3. Chicago Fire

4. FC Dallas (from DC, FCD)

5. San Jose Earthquakes

6. MetroStars

7. Colorado Rapids

8. Columbus Crew

9. Columbus Crew (from NE)

10. Los Angeles Galaxy

11. Kansas City Wizards

12. D.C. United


13. Real Salt Lake

14. CD Chivas USA

15. Chicago Fire

16. FC Dallas

17. New England Revolution (from SJ)

18. San Jose Earthquakes (from MET)

19. Los Angeles Galaxy (from COL)

20. Columbus Crew

21. New England Revolution

22. Los Angeles Galaxy

23. FC Dallas (from KC)

24. FC Dallas (from DC)


25. Real Salt Lake

26. CD Chivas USA

27. Chicago Fire

28. FC Dallas

29. San Jose Earthquakes

30. MetroStars

31. Colorado Rapids

32. Columbus Crew

33. New England Revolution

34. Los Angeles Galaxy

35. Kansas City Wizards

36. D.C. United


37. Real Salt Lake

38. CD Chivas USA

39. Chicago Fire

40. FC Dallas

41. San Jose Earthquakes

42. MetroStars

43. Colorado Rapids

44. Columbus Crew

45. New England Revolution

46. Los Angeles Galaxy

47. Kansas City Wizards

48. D.C. United

Jonathan Nierman is a contributor to This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Soccer or its club.

To report a comment, mouseover or touch the comment and then click/touch the flag icon (Flag).