MLS announces Coach, Rookie of the Year

Major League Soccer today announced that San Jose Earthquakes head coach Dominic Kinnear was selected as the MLS Coach of the Year and Michael Parkhurst of the New England Revolution has been named the Gatorade Rookie of the Year.

Despite losing a large core of the 2004 squad to other clubs in the off-season and then more players to injuries during the 2005 campaign, Kinnear was able to guide the Quakes to a League-best 64 points (18-4-10 record) becoming only the second team in MLS history to register more than 60 points in a season. Fielding a balanced team with no player scoring more than nine goals during the season, the Quakes finished the year with a 14-game unbeaten streak, going 11-0-3 and 15-1-6 in their last 22 games. San Jose surrendered a League-low 31 goals and set another League record for fewest losses in a season (4). In his second year as a head coach, Kinnear's club became the first to go undefeated at home for an entire season.

New England Revolution defender Michael Parkhurst was one of only five players - - including the only rookie - - to start and play in every minute of every game during the 2005 regular season (32 starts, 2880 minutes). The Rhode Island native, who grew up a fan of the Revolution, gives the Revs back-to-back Gatorade Rookie of the Year winners after Clint Dempsey captured the award in 2004. The first selection by the Revolution in the 2005 MLS SuperDraft showed veteran poise at the heart of the back line and was only whistled for six fouls over the course of the season, anchoring a defense that gave up the second fewest goals in the League (37). The 21 year-old Parkhurst, who was also selected to the 2005 MLS All-Star team, is the fourth player on the current Revolution roster to have won the award (Steve Ralston - 1996; Jay Heaps - 1999; Dempsey - 2004).

The MLS Coach of the Year and the Gatorade Rookie of the Year winners were determined by equal voting from the media (33.33 percent), MLS players (33.33 percent) and MLS coaches and general managers (33.33 percent). With each voting category representing one-third of the total votes, the formula used for determining the award winners involved assigning 33.33 total points to each category for a maximum possible total of 99.99 points. All first year players in MLS without previous professional experience were eligible for the Gatorade Rookie of the Year award. The voting totals were as follows:

MLS Coach of the Year
	        Media  Players Coach/GM	Total
Dominic Kinnear	14.59	14.96	14.51	44.05
Steve Nicol	8.57	9.22	10.49	28.29
Peter Nowak 	4.69	4.45	3.40	12.53
Gatorade Rookie of the Year
	       Media  Players Coach/GM	Total
Michael Parkhurst 8.29	7.46	8.64	24.39
Chris Rolfe	6.12	9.80	6.79	22.71
Scott Sealy 	5.37	6.85	8.02	20.24

MLS Coach of the Year Winners:

2005: Dominic Kinnear - San Jose Earthquakes

2004: Greg Andrulis - Columbus Crew

2003: Dave Sarachan - Chicago Fire

2002: Steve Nicol - New England Revolution

2001: Frank Yallop - San Jose Earthquakes

2000: Bob Gansler - Kansas City Wizards

1999: Sigi Schmid - Los Angeles Galaxy

1998: Bob Bradley - Chicago Fire

1997: Bruce Arena - D.C. United

1996: Thomas Rongen - Tampa Bay Mutiny

Gatorade Rookie of the Year Winners:

2005: Michael Parkhurst - New England Revolution

2004: Clint Dempsey - New England Revolution

2003: Damani Ralph - Chicago Fire

2002: Kyle Martino - Columbus Crew

2001: Rodrigo Faria - MetroStars

2000: Carlos Bocanegra - Chicago Fire

1999: Jay Heaps - Miami Fusion

1998: Ben Olsen - D.C. United

1997: Mike Duhaney - Tampa Bay Mutiny

1996: Steve Ralston - Tampa Bay Mutiny

To report a comment, mouseover or touch the comment and then click/touch the flag icon (Flag).