GolTV to televise U.S. Open Cup Final

will look to become the
sixth team to win U.S. Soccer's national championship four times as they
defend their title. The Fire also went on the road in the 2003 final,
defeating the MetroStars 1-0 to add on to the club's 1998 and 2000 titles.

For the seventh time since Major League Soccer joined the competition in its
inaugural year, the Division I league sends two representatives to the final
match out of the field of 167 eligible teams. At stake is a $100,000 prize
for the winners as well as having the team inscribed on the historic Dewar
Cup. The runner up will take home a prize of $50,000.

Tickets for the U.S. Open Cup Final can be purchased through Ticketmaster or
the Wizards Box Office at 816-920-9300. Lower Level Sideline seating is
available for $18 for adults and $13 for youth (15 and under). Club Level
seating is $22 for adults and $16 for youths. There will be no endline
general admission seating available. Zard Card holders can purchase $5 seats
for themselves and each accompanying family member with reserved seating in
Sections 104 and 133 on the North side of the stadium. The Open Cup Final is
designated as "Special Game C" for Wizards season ticket holders.

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, the U.S. Soccer Federation's National
Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional
soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer that dates back to 1914. It is the
oldest annual team tournament in U.S. sports history and among the oldest
soccer tournaments of its type in the world. In 1999, the competition was
renamed to honor long-time soccer pioneer Lamar Hunt. The winning team will
have its name added to the Dewar Trophy, which resides permanently at the
National Soccer Hall of Fame in Oneonta, N.Y., but will make a special
appearance in Kansas City for the week leading up to the match.

To report a comment, mouseover or touch the comment and then click/touch the flag icon (Flag).