Beckham, Zidane, Ronaldo headline Real Madrid roster for U.S. tour

Real Madrid, nine-time European club champion featuring a selection of the greatest players in the world, announced its traveling 24-man roster for their 2005 U.S. Tour. The list of players traveling to the United States on Thursday night features the likes of superstars David Beckham (England), Ronaldo (Brazil), Raul (Spain), Figo (Portugal), Michael Owen (England) and Roberto Carlos (Brazil).

Real Madrid will be making its first appearance of the 2005-2006 season in the United States, in the debut of new acquisitions and Uruguayan internationals Carlos Diogo and Pablo Garcia. The Spanish giants will face Mexican power CD Guadalajara at Chicago's Soldier Field on Saturday, July 16 (5:30 p.m. CT / 6:30 p.m. ET) followed by its first ever match against an MLS team, the Los Angeles Galaxy, at The Home Depot Center on Monday, July 18 (7:30 p.m. PT / 10:30 p.m. ET). The game in Chicago will be the second game of a doubleheader that kicks off with the nationally televised MLS regular season clash between the Chicago Fire and Columbus Crew (ESPN2 at 3:00 p.m. CT / 4:00 p.m. ET).

REAL MADRID U.S. TOUR ROSTER

GOALKEEPERS (3): Iker Casillas, Diego López, Carlos Sánchez.

DEFENDERS (8): Michel Salgado, Alvaro Mejía, Ivan Helguera, Carlos Pavón, Carlos Diogo, Roberto Carlos, Raúl Bravo, Ruben De la Red.

MIDFIELDERS (8): Pablo García, David Beckham, Zinedine Zidane, Jose Maria Gutierrez "Guti", Luis Figo, Thomas Gravesen, Jose Manuel Jurado, Alvaro Arbeloa.

FORWARDS (5): Raúl, Ronaldo, Michael Owen, Juanfran, Roberto Soldado.


To report a comment, mouseover or touch the comment and then click/touch the flag icon (Flag).