Vancouver Whitecaps FC

2011 - present

Nicknames: Caps, Blue and White


Stadium: BC Place Stadium

Owner: Greg Kerfoot, Steve Luczo, Jeff Mallett, Steve Nash

Current Roster

On March 18, 2009, Vancouver Whitecaps FC became the 17th MLS franchise after it was announced that a franchise would become a reality in British Columbia. The original Whitecaps had been present since being formed for the NASL in 1974. However it was over a year, June 8 2010, before the ownership group announced the Whitecaps name would be kept for the MLS side. Key players such as John Thorrington, Eric Hassli and Jay DeMerit were part of the inaugural squad for the 'Caps opening MLS season in 2011.

The Whitecaps name was kept but the logo was redesigned for their first season in MLS, with the geography surrounding the city the key features on the new logo. The white-capped mountains to the north and the Pacific Ocean’s white-crested waves to the west make up the badge in a triple diamond shaped logo.

The clubs colors are navy blue, white and light blue. The lighter shades of blue represents the old Whitecaps who won the NASL Soccer Bowl in 1979. While the dark blue represents the ocean and the Whitecaps blue represent the reflection of the mountains in the Pacific Ocean.

The side played the majority of their first MLS season at Empire Field, but by the end of the year had moved into their permanent home at the fully-renovated BC Place.

Vancouver's arrival to MLS also sealed the return of the storied rivalry between the 'Caps, Portland Timbers and Seattle Sounders. Their battle for supremacy in the Pacific Northwest dates back to 1975, but the feud took a top-flight hiatus from 1982 to 2011. Every season, the three clubs fight it out for the Cascadia Cup, the trophy awarded to the team with the best head-to-head record in their regular season derbies.

Notable Players

  • Eric Hassli
  • Davide Chiumiento
  • Jay DeMerit
  • John Thorrington
  • Lee Young-Pyo
  • Joe Cannon
  • Camilo Sanvezzo
  • Nigel Reo-Coker
  • Pedro Morales
  • Matias Laba
  • Kendall Waston


  • Teitur Thordarson, 2011
  • Tom Soehn, 2011
  • Martin Rennie, 2011-2013
  • Carl Robinson, 2014-present

2011 | 2012 | 2013