Toronto FC

2007 - present

Nicknames: TFC, Reds

Canadian Championship 2009, 2010, 2011

Stadium: BMO Field

Owner: Maple Leaf Sports Entertainment

Current Roster

Toronto FC became a reality on October 2005, when Major League Soccer granted Toronto a franchise for a new team, in conjunction with the Canadian Soccer Association (CSA) plans to build a new National soccer stadium in Toronto under a unique public/private partnership between Maple Leaf Sports & Entertainment (MLSE), City of Toronto, Province of Ontario and the Federal Government.

MLSE and MLS officials unveiled Toronto FC as the city's newest professional sports team on May 11, 2006. Toronto FC became Major League Soccer's 13th team and began playing in April 2007.

The name "Toronto FC" was selected for its simplicity. The acronym FC is synonymous with soccer and great soccer clubs around the world who chose to emphasize their cities' names. The logo integrates a traditional shield with contemporary imagery. The red and white kits the players wear display the Canadian connection. The Toronto FC name allows their fans to adopt a nickname that truly reflects the team character that will continue to develop.

Notable Players

  • Jim Brennan
  • Danny Dichio
  • Dwayne De Rosario
  • Maurice Edu
  • Torsten Frings
  • Danny Koevermans
  • Michael Bradley
  • Jermain Defoe


  • Mo Johnston, 2007
  • John Carver, 2008-2009
  • Chris Cummins, 2009 (interim)
  • Preki, 2010
  • Nick Dasovic, 2010 (interim)
  • Aron Winter, 2011-2012
  • Paul Mariner, 2012
  • Ryan Nelsen, 2013-2014
  • Greg Vanney, 2014-present

2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013