Sporting Kansas City

1996 - present

Nicknames: Sporting, KC, Sporting KC, The Wiz, Wizards


MLS Cup 2000, 2013
MLS Supporters' Shield 2000
US Open Cup 2004, 2012

Stadium: Sporting Park

Owner: Sporting Club

Current Roster

Sporting Kansas City are one of the founding members of MLS, after they joined the league in 1996 known as the Kansas City Wiz. The season after they changed their name to the Kansas City Wizards which they kept until 2011 when they became Sporting Kansas City.

Another landmark came in 2011, as on June 9 near Village West in Kansas City, Kansas, after 15 seasons without a permanent home SKC had a place to call their own. Their stint of not having their own stadium included 12 seasons at Arrowhead stadium built for football and three seasons at CommunityAmerica Ballpark built for baseball, but the team moved into the $200+ million dollar Livestrong Sporting Park in Kansas City and arguably one of the finest soccer specific stadiums in the nation.

The clubs colors are dark indigo and sporting blue and Kansas City have had four different badges over the span of their existence. The current logo is based on the Asclepius Rod that represents health and fitness, a Greek statue called the Winged Victory of the Samothrace and the Spanish architecture of Kansas City’s Spanish Country Club Plaza. Also the lines on the badge replicate the state lines of Kansas and Missouri, which many of their fans have to crossover frequently to see Sporting play.

In 2000 SKC won their first titles, securing the MLS Cup an the Supporters’ Shield as they defeated the Chicago Fire 1-0 at RFK stadium in DC. In 2004 Kansas City secured their third trophy, after capturing the US Open Cup, courtesy of a sudden death overtime winner against the Fire once again.

Notable Players

  • Preki
  • Davy Arnaud
  • Diego Gutierrez
  • Tony Meola
  • Josh Wolff
  • Kerry Zavagnin
  • Chris Klein
  • Mo Johnston
  • Kevin Hartman
  • Jimmy Conrad
  • Miklos Molnar
  • Vitalis Takwira
  • Sasha Victorine
  • Eddie Johnson
  • Chris Henderson
  • Herculez Gomez
  • Nick Garcia
  • Claudio Lopez
  • Peter Vermes
  • Roger Espinoza
  • Kei Kamara
  • Graham Zusi
  • Matt Besler

Notable Coaches

  • Ron Newman, 1996-1999
  • Ken Fogarty, 1999 (interim)
  • Bob Gansler, 1999-2006
  • Brian Bliss, 2006 (interim)
  • Curt Onalfo, 2006-2009
  • Peter Vermes, 2009-present

1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013