Houston Dynamo

2006 - present

Nicknames: Dynamo, Orange men, Orange Crush, La Naranja, The Men in Orange, The Orange

MLS Cup: 2006, 2007

Stadium: BBVA Compass Stadium

Owner: Phillip Anschutz, (AEG) Jim Brener, (Brener International Group) Oscar De La Hoya, (Golden Boy Promotions)

Current Roster

The Dynamo moved to Houston from San Jose in December 2005 and played their first season in Houston in 2006. The club won consecutive MLS Cup championships in 06 and 07 and has become one of the league's leading franchises, domestically and internationally, since its inception.

The name Dynamo was chosen because it is symbolic of Houston being a "hard-working, risk-taking kind of town." Also it refers to the significant energy-based industrial economy present in the city and also several other soccer teams, such as Dynamo Kyiv, use the team name.

Head coach Dominic Kinnear took the reigns in 06 and created somewhat of a dynasty straight off the bat, after the Texas outfits’ outstanding initial success in MLS Cup. Key players such as Brian Ching, Brad Davis and Dwayne De Rosario were influential in the early success of the franchise, and the Dynamo built on this under the steady stewardship of Kinnear.

Houston are joint owned by AEG, Brener International group and former world and Olympic boxing champion Oscar De La Hoya. With this strong financial backing the Dynamo will finally complete a move to their very own soccer specific stadium, BBVA Compass Stadium, during the 2012 MLS season. Up until now the Orange have called Robertson Stadium at the University of Houston home, but all that will change with a new dawn for soccer in Houston on the horizon.

One thing is for certain in just a short space of time in MLS, the Dynamo made their mark. Reaching the MLS Cup final three times in their first six season and taking the trophy back to Texas twice.

Notable Players

  • Brian Ching
  • Dwayne De Rosario
  • Brad Davis
  • Eddie Robinson
  • Paul Dalglish
  • Stuart Holden
  • Brian Mullan
  • Richard Mulrooney
  • Ricardo Clark
  • Pat Onstad


  • Dominic Kinnear, 2006-present

2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013