FC Dallas

1996 - present

Nicknames: FCD, Red Stripes, Toros


US Open Cup 1997

Stadium: FC Dallas Stadium

Owner: Clark Hunt

Current Roster

FC Dallas were one of the ten founding members of MLS when they joined the league in 1996 as the Dallas Burn. The name switched to FC Dallas occurred in 2005 and the Texas outfit have been a constant and proud symbol of MLS since day one.

Despite the name change, the club’s colors have remained pretty constant over time. Dallas adopted red and black as their colors in ’96 and then changed it slightly to red and white in 2005 when they became FC Dallas. The club has had two logos the first being a fire breathing black horse, with “Burn” written underneath it.

The second logo incorporates the blue, white and red color scheme with, the number 96 for the year the team was formed and a large bull that shows how cattle use to be herded along the North Texas trails in the 19th century. Also one star representing the US Open Cup win and the state of Texas is present on the badge

Dallas have played at three stadiums in their time as an MLS side, including two stints at the Cotton Bowl stadium from 1996-2002 and 2004-2005 and Dragon Stadium in 2003 in Fort Worth. However their soccer specific venue opened in 2005 in Frisco, Texas, to coincide with the rebranding of the team as FC Dallas.

The Texas team have won just one major trophy since being founded, in their second season in 1997 they lifted the US Open Cup courtesy of a win over defending champs D.C. United.

The closest Dallas have come so far to adding an MLS Cup to their trophy cabinet is in 2010, when they agonizingly lost in the MLS Cup final in overtime 2-1 to the Colorado Rapids.

Notable Players

  • Jason Kreis
  • Kenny Cooper
  • Leonel Alvarez
  • Jeff Cunningham
  • Chad Deering
  • Denilson
  • Mark Dodd
  • Clarence Goodson
  • Ariel Graziani
  • Brian Haynes
  • Eddie Johnson
  • Matt Jordan
  • Antonio Martinez
  • Dax McCarty
  • Roberto Mina
  • Drew Moor
  • Ronnie O'Brien
  • Dominic Oduro
  • Oscar Pareja
  • Blas Perez
  • Bobby Rhine
  • Pablo Ricchetti
  • Jorge Rodriguez
  • Carlos Ruiz
  • Dario Sala
  • Mark Santel
  • Brek Shea
  • Simo Valakari
  • Greg Vanney
  • Anthony Wallace
  • Joselito Vaca

Notable Coaches

  • Dave Dir, 1996-2000
  • Mike Jeffries, 2001-2003
  • Colin Clarke, 2003-2006
  • Steve Morrow, 2006-2008
  • Marco Ferruzzi, 2008 (interim)
  • Schellas Hyndman, 2008-2013
  • Oscar Pareja, 2014-present

1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013