Colorado Rapids

1996 - present

Nicknames: Rapids


MLS Cup 2010

Stadium: Dick's Sporting Goods Park

Owner: Stan Kroenke

Current Roster

The Colorado Rapids are one of the founding member of MLS, after the franchise was present in the Western Conference in 1996 in the league’s inaugural year. The side is situated in Denver, Colorado and played its home games at the Mile high stadium from 1996-2007. In 2007 they then moved to their soccer specific stadium in Commerce City in Denver’s suburbs, where Dick's Sporting Goods Park is situated.

The Rapids logo is one that has changed markedly since their inaugural year in 1996. The franchise went through two complete rebranding’s in its first 11 years of existence. Green and white were the initial primary colors of the Rapids kits, however in 2003 that changed to black and blue stripes. In 2007 Colorado rebranded themselves again to link in with other teams that owner Stan Kroenke owned, changing their colors to burgundy and blue.

The original Rapids badge consisted of a river flowing through the middle of the Colorado Rapids name with an image of the Rocky mountains in the background. This was then replaced by a circular logo which had a soccer ball at the center with the team name emblazoned around the outside of the circle. For the 2007 rebranding the Rapids created the shield logo with the new burgundy and blue colors prominent as well as a mountain and soccer ball.

The side won it’s first ever trophy in 2010, as head coach Gary Smith led his side to MLS Cup in Toronto and returned victorious to Colorado. Previously the Rapids had reached the MLS Cup final in 1997 and the US Open Cup in 1999 but lost on both occasions.

Notable Players

  •  Marcelo Balboa
  •  Shaun Bartlett
  •  Kyle Beckerman
  •  Nat Borchers
  •  Paul Bravo
  •  Joe Cannon
  •  Mark Chung
  •  Colin Clark
  •  Terry Cooke
  •  Bouna Coundoul
  •  Robin Fraser
  •  Cory Gibbs
  •  Marcus Hahnemann
  •  Chris Henderson
  •  Ugo Ihemelu
  •  Aitor Karanka
  •  Jovan Kirovski
  •  Anders Limpar
  •  Jacob Peterson
  •  John Spencer
  •  Steve Trittschuh
  •  Carlos Valderrama
  •  Chris Woods

Notable Coaches

  • Bob Houghton, 1996
  • Roy Wegerle, 1996 (interim)
  • Glenn Myernick, 1997-2000
  • Tim Hankinson, 2001-2004
  • Fernando Clavijo, 2005-2008
  • Gary Smith, 2008-2011
  • Oscar Pareja, 2012-2013

1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013