Chivas USA

2005 - present

Nicknames: Red-and-White, Goats, Goats USA, Rojiblancos, Rebano Angelino


Stadium: StubHub Center

Owner: Jorge Vergara

Current Roster

On August 2, 2004, co-owners Jorge Vergara and Antonio Cué announced that they had been awarded MLS’s 11th franchise, Chivas USA. Chivas were a US model of its parent club CD Guadalajara, one of the most successful sides in Mexican soccer history. The club logo was chosen and it replicated parent club CD’s badge, the only difference being the lack of 11 stars that represented CD’s Mexican league titles.

The red and white striped shirts were also the same as Guadalajara’s, as were the blue shorts and socks that Chivas adopted. Chivas stands for Goats in Spanish, hence the club’s nickname The Goats.

Thomas Rongen was named Chivas USA’s first ever head coach, while Arturo Torres became the team’s first-ever player when he was selected with the first pick in the MLS Expansion Draft. Chivas USA played their first game on April 2, 2005, losing 2-0 to D.C. United. The Red-and-White earned their first victory on May 7, defeating Real Salt Lake 1-0.  

The red-and-whites clinched their first playoff berth in team history in 2006, and continued that run for four consecutive years. The Goats won the Western Conference Title in 2007 and pride themselves on playing fluid, attractive soccer. The SuperClassico match against LA Galaxy is one of the biggest games of the season, as the rivalry between the two Californian sides is eagerly anticipated by both sets of supporters.

Notable Players

  • Brad Guzan
  • Francisco Palencia
  • Sacha Kljestan
  • Jonathan Bornstein
  • Robin Fraser
  • Claudio Suarez
  • Dan Kennedy
  • Carlos Bocanegra
  • Mauro Rosales

Notable Coaches

  • Thomas Rongen, 2005
  • Javier Ledesma, 2005 (interim)
  • Hans Westerhof, 2005
  • Bob Bradley, 2006
  • Preki, 2007-2009
  • Martin Vasquez, 2010
  • Robin Faser, 2011-2012
  • Jose Luis "Chelis" Sanchez Sola, 2013
  • Jose Luis "Guero" Real, 2013
  • Wilmer Cabrera, 2014-present

2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013