Devin Pleuler

Devin Pleuler is a data scientist who currently crunches soccer metrics for Opta and writes the "Central Winger" series. He graduated from Wentworth Institute of Technology in Boston with the only Computer Science degree on the school's NCAA soccer team. Surrogate goalkeeper. Purveyor of adverbs.

DEVIN PLEULER

Wondo and Kamara - Winger
Advanced metrics measure how stars stack up vs. expectations
Tue, 11/06/2012
MLSsoccer.com
Union celebrate, Revs don't - Central Winger
Dr. Howard Hamilton's pythagorean expectation in focus
Tue, 10/30/2012
MLSsoccer.com
EJ - Central Winger
The pass before the cross can end up making all the difference
Wed, 10/17/2012
MLSsoccer.com
Bringing new clarity to old terms like "holding" and "box-to-box"
Tue, 10/02/2012
MLSsoccer.com
With Tiffert in the lineup, stats show that Seattle are noticeably tidier in the final third
Tue, 09/18/2012
MLSsoccer.com
Jamaica vs. US - Central Winger
Network passing graphs reveal US weakness vs. Jamaica
Tue, 09/11/2012
MLSsoccer.com
Zusi, Davis, Nagbe - Central Winger
Who are the top candidates to become the USMNT's new Claudio Reyna in midfield
Tue, 09/04/2012
MLSsoccer.com
RBNY vs. Chivas Overhead - Central Winger
Secondary pass completion rate in MLS dominated by defense
Tue, 08/21/2012
MLSsoccer.com
Brad Davis - Central Winger
Dynamo are on a roll, and here's a majorly overlooked reason why
Tue, 08/07/2012
MLSsoccer.com
Zusi - Central Winger
Improved model illustrates MLS attacking, possession tendencies
Tue, 07/24/2012
MLSsoccer.com
Who is MLS' most effective passer? Answer might surprise you
Tue, 07/17/2012
MLSsoccer.com
SKC - Central Winger
Lineup juggling proves to be ineffective for MLS managers
Tue, 07/10/2012
MLSsoccer.com
Bielsa - Central Winger
How high pressure has hopped the pond to MLS in 2012
Tue, 06/26/2012
MLSsoccer.com
Adu - Numerology
In the final installment of our Q&A, 4 MLS analysts peer into the crystal ball
Fri, 06/22/2012
MLSsoccer.com
RSL - Central Winger
Measuring possession stats shows unexpected returns
Fri, 06/22/2012
MLSsoccer.com
Wondo - Numerology
MLS stats gurus talk possession, formations and goalscorers
Thu, 06/21/2012
MLSsoccer.com
Sapong - Numerology
Part 2 of our interview with MLS performance analysts takes a look at the cap & "anti-football"
Wed, 06/20/2012
MLSsoccer.com
Numerology interview Pt 1
MLS experts talk about the analytics revolution in soccer
Tue, 06/19/2012
MLSsoccer.com