About MLSsoccer.com's 24 Under 24 series

First launched in 2010, MLSsoccer.com's "24 Under 24" is our annual ranking of the best young players in Major League Soccer. 

Eligible Players (2013)

Players had to be under the age of 24 as of MLS Cup on Dec. 7, 2013. This year, there were 188 eligible candidates when voting commenced on July 25.

Who voted (2013)

The 2013 "24 Under 24" rankings are computed by compiling ratings from two voting blocs: MLSsoccer.com Editors and a Media Panel.

The proportion of their votes is as follows.

  • MLSsoccer.com Editors: 50%
  • Media Panel: 50%

MLSsoccer.com Editors
The following staff editors participated in the 24 Under 24 ratings:

  • Greg Lalas, editor in chief
  • Jonah Freedman, managing editor
  • Simon Borg, senior editor
  • Andrew Wiebe, new media editor
  • Matt Doyle, new media editor
  • Nick Rosano, new media editor
  • Kristel Valencia, futbolMLS editor in chief
  • Diego Pinzon, futbolMLS editor
  • Jason Saghini, director of video
  • Josh Whisenhunt, social media manager
  • Charles Boehm, freelance editor
  • Alicia Rodriguez, freelance editor

Media Panel
The 2013 24 Under 24 Media Panel consisted of the following members of the national soccer media:

  • John Strong (NBC)
  • Joe Prince-Wright (NBC Pro Soccer Talk)
  • Steve Davis (NBC Pro Soccer Talk)
  • Alexi Lalas (ESPN)
  • Taylor Twellman (ESPN)
  • Doug McIntyre (ESPN)
  • Marc Connolly (ESPN)
  • Kurt Larson (Toronto Sun)
  • Seth Vertelney (Goal.com)
  • Keith Hickey (Goal.com)
  • Jason Davis (KCKRS.com/Best Soccer Show and Soccer Morning podcast)
  • Kyle McCarthy (MLSsoccer.com / Goal.com / FoxSoccer.com)

Voting Criteria

MLSsoccer.com staff and media panelists gave a rated eligible players based on the following five criteria:

  • Technical (skills, dribbling, shooting, first touch, heading, etc.)
  • Tactical (positioning, reading game, soccer IQ, etc.)
  • Physical Attributes (speed, endurance, strength, vertical leap, etc.)
  • Personality (marketability, media savvy, quotability, charisma, intangibles, etc.)
  • Potential (upside, national team potential, potential future transfer value, etc.)

Past Winners

2010 Fredy Montero, Seattle Sounders (see complete rankings)

2011 Brek Shea, FC Dallas (see complete rankings)

2012 Darren Mattocks, Vancouver Whitecaps (see complete rankings)